You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jules, Freddie, and the Monkey Man

in #writing6 years ago

First off, this descriptor had me smiling: “gargantuan mass of almost unruly hair that looks like a bad costume wig.”

And what I enjoyed about this piece was that you really brought across the feeling of nostalgia we all have towards the strong personalities of our past. It made me think back to my best friend in high school. It was a tumultuous friendship, but it’s only in hindsight I realized I took her for granted. She had something about her that was very special. I think of the things I could have changed that might have meant she’d still be in my life...So for me, there are regrets and the memories seem to linger more with age.

I couldn’t tell if this was based on your own past or purely fictional until I read the comments. A lovely read, so thank you.

Sort:  

Thank you, @linnyplant! Yes, the nostalgia thing can be a driving force in the way we change behavior in later years. Most of us have the ability to fine-tune our hindsight, and I do a good bit of that.

Have you kept in touch with your good friend? Have you written about the relationship? It would make a good story to explore the situation and the corrections you would like to have made to see how things would change. Women can do a much better job with that kind of situation than could a man, I think.

I have one of those, also from long ago, and it is the kind of memory one has of being blindsided by a Ferrari at full speed, with about the same impact on my life. I can still feel the vibrations from far back down my timeline.

Also, comments can be deceiving when they are briefly made. Jules and her hair were real and she was something to behold! That does not mean the story is all true or all fiction or 90/10, or any other division, (and I'll never confirm or deny any more of the story). Quite often, it is impossible to go through a memory and tell what was real from the things that are mostly real. I am more often guilty of leaving people and events out of a story than I am of creating something new to add in.

Thank you for thinking the story was worthwhile.

Will

Sadly, no as far as keeping touch with this friend. As was typical, we grew apart and our temperaments were always so different, we took very different paths. I’m not sure if I’d want to write it out. I’m also not sure if women are any better at analysing and seeing past mistakes. And while I’d like to think I can adjust my hindsight as I get older, I feel I make more mistakes and have more regrets. I think there’s truth in that we get more set on our ways as we age. I suppose it’s understanding who you are and finding your true boundaries. It doesn’t mean there isn’t regrets when you have to let people go. I’m not quite sure what I’m writing about right now, but your words are interesting. Also had a peek at your profile, so please tell your SOIC she is gorgeous! ;)

Something that came slowly to me was realizing that I am who I am, and there is little to be gained by changing me to suit someone else. It took many decades to become who I am, and I'm satisfiedwith the functioning results. That removes the undercurrent of worry that can undermine a solid foundation for feeling stable.

The SOIC is insufferably pleased by your compliment. We both thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48