The schooling system is still medieval

in #writing7 years ago

I love education and acquiring further knowledge. That is why I believe a person should get educated all his life. However I strongly disagree with the schooling system, I think it is old, outdated and crying for a change.

13256604_1609641662685117_1767447348_n.jpg

I finished high school a couple of years back with flying colors, something that would guarantee ma a place in any university I wanted. I didn't go. Middle school was fun for me, it was easy, but not really challenging. High school was boring. I realize now, I should have had a challenge, it is all about the challenge. That is how a brain gets better at its job.

I was in the top 4 in my class, and I had two very gifted young men in front of me, and one who really had to work hard to get there. The two guys could have learned in a higher grade.

This brings me to the problem with the schooling system. People pride themselves on being unique, different from each other, and we are. Age should not be the marker of what one person should know, because we all know far too well, that a lot of kids are struggling at school, while others are excelling.

I have a favorite quote for this phenomenon.

Everybody is a Genius. But If You Judge a Fish by Its Ability to Climb a Tree, It Will Live Its Whole Life Believing that It is Stupid
--Albert Einstein

19050317_336347136782653_535884735969230848_n(1).jpg

We should be able to choose what knowledge we want to acquire, and we should be able to study subjects that meet our capacity to understand, but schools are preparing us to work on a conveyor belt, they are taking individuals and making workers. They are not creating thinkers as they are punishing for mistakes. Tell me one thing, how does a person learn? By making mistakes. I was so afraid to make mistakes, that the one time I got a bad grade I was crying (I was 9 years old). This grade didn't affect my final result at all, but I had this thought in my head that it was bad to make mistakes. And I still remember that day crystal clear, tell me that is not a scar on a brain.

When you make a mistake in school, you get a bad grade, for some reason most people say ''go to school, get good grades, find a good job, become rich'' This is so ridiculous for a single reason. Let me ask you, how many people having a 9 to 5 job are money rich?

Schools do not teach financial education. They teach how to work for somebody else, they haven't changed since they were created In the industrial times.

The ones who succeed are the drop outs, the pupils who rebelled. The individual thinkers. I know for a fact that one of the smart guys in my class is studying to become doctor. Do doctors get rich? Maybe, sometimes, usually doctors are wealthy, but overworked. I know this, because I know a some doctors.

It is not bad to be an employee, and I am not saying that you shouldn't go to school, what I am saying is, don't forget to have your own head, do study what you love, but don't get stuck studying for a paycheck, for a degree that your parents want, not you, and remember, your school is not going to teach you how to deal with money, you have to learn that, money is important today, so you better educate yourself about it.

13408961_1136665046376929_1447188951_n.jpg

Sort:  

I completely agree with you. Love the Albert Einstein quote. Here is another one that hits the nail on the head:
Memorization of government mandated curriculum is not education it's indoctrination.

Fortunately, my daughter realized what's wrong with public school when she was in the 9th grade and we decided to homeschool. Basically, she's spent four years reading and learning about the things she really cares about.

There is so much irrelevant stuff taught at schools and so much useful stuff forgotten, plus the way schools work totally throw me off now

Agreed - additionally, students need to be taught the history of our nation (and the world) not just back to the Clinton years! The founders of this great nation were principled and foresaw the struggles greed has lead us to today. If our children do not understand the shared values our culture leaned on to become great then we are doomed to crash and burn under the entitlement mentality that is so pervasive today from Gen-Y down.
Students need a comprehensive course in economics as well and that most definitely goes without saying for anyone who is smart enough to be here on the Steemit! Thank you @lindahas !!
STEEM
LMAN.GIF
On . . .

Where I come from they do teach history from Dinosaur times, but the thing with history is that winners write it, so you can't be sure what is in the books is true.

When you say 'winners' I assume you mean Progressives ;)

I mean the ones that win wars :D

Hey @lindahas

I concur with this 100% and i want to say; school is a customized prison where a bunch of idiots gather to listen to another idiots wasting their time, consuming useless and outdated information and hoping to get a paper no one cares about.

Schools teaches students how to be slaves to smart people who didn't go to school. True education is experiencing life by living to observe and learn and not a 4 years schooling period.

Well, our schooling period is 12 years of basic education, as I was saying, I don't think schools are bad, they do give you some kind of education, I just don't think it is the right kind. Universities are something different, you already can choose what you want to study, I just could not figure out what I wanted to do, so I did not go. I am mostly talkling about basic education.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29