You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vocab-ability–1 (acri, acer = sharp, bitter) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

1)Acrid: bitter, harsh in taste or smell.

The smell of acrid smoke made his eyes water, blurring his vision.

2)Acrimonious: bitter, hateful, angry.

The man's argument was passionate, full of harsh and acrimonious judgments that confirmed his prejudices.

3)Acerbic: sour, caustic, sarcastic.

Bill Hicks is widely known for his acerbic sense of humour, that is why he was called "The Dark Poet".

4)Exacerbate: to aggravate, to irritate, to embitter.

I think the venezuelan government's desire to revalue the country's currency only exacerbates the economical crisis, instead of solving it.

This was an interest exercise, I thought really hard on my sentences and I think they show understanding of the meaning of the words. This is going to help me a lot when I start writing fiction again! Thanks.

P.s: I had to edit because I hadn't notice that if I added a space between the ) and the word it wouldn't count the number series!

Sort:  

Good work. In fact, your sample sentences clearly express the meaning "in context."

Good luck as you continue. I truly hope it helps you develop and improve your usable vocab.

As for the spacing issue, there are various such things that one has to learn as one posts on Steemit. But once you learn, it soon becomes second nature. Also, if you need to find out, just ask. Many people are more than willing to offer advice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60