You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Write Club, Fight Club, All Right Club!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

"You said yourself that you never signed a contract. "

FYI, since you both said this, this is technically irrelevant.

A verbal contract/agreement is equally as legally binding as a written one. It is merely more difficult to litigate.

I have no other relevant tidbits to offer.

Sort:  

What about the agreement to cease usage? Is that binding?
This is my only true issue here... that I was asked eight days ago what I wanted regarding usage and told that my decision would be respected. My decision was to cease use - which was an option supplied to me by the person that approached me. I included a screenshot of the correspondence in my previous comment.

And this is exactly my point. There was no contract with conditions. There is nothing to enforce here. We have an attorney on board who does not advise us to stop using the vector art image. The one of the letters forming a block underneath the feather is a slightly different matter, and unless someone does a copypaste of the code, it will never appear online again.

Yelling "lawyer" in a crowded comment thread seems completely ridiculous here. This is a matter of a simple request, "please stop using my work," and a rude, unnecessary, vindictive refusal to honor said request.

Uhmm. . .have you not realized who a certain zombie is, and what he does for a living? You guys even sent him an invite to the new server. And you didn't know?

gasp he's a lawyer?
Of course I know that. And of course I know that you've been consulting him. My question is, why? Why not just stop using the logo you claim to not want to use anyway? Why drag lawyers into this, if not to perpetuate a fight?

"Perpetuate" a fight? We didn't even start the fight. You guys are the ones all gloved up and swinging at shadows. We're just going along, minding our own business and none of you can stand it. So you feel compelled to stir up drama. Drama, drama, drama, drama. Drama Llama, Bahama Mama. The gif has the link to our website. That's why we use it. Nobody wants to bother making an interim one while the new one is being created. It's fuss and bother that is necessary only in a petty world. We are busy moving on and building a community. You all are busy stirring up drama and being ridiculous. I think your answer about why we still grab that old gif code is in the question. WHY? Why get so twisted up about seeing what amounts to a piece of nondescript clip art in a post on Steemit? So yeah, my question is also why? Why not just ignore it and it will go away? I think the answer is simple: if you ignore it, you have to pass up on creating more drama.

And as an aside, with the level of venom you guys brought to the table, having some legal insight into how we should proceed isn't such a bad idea.

"Nobody wants to bother making an interim one..." So the request is denied. And when the artist, whose request has been denied, attempts to stand up for herself and her work, she's dismissed as creating drama. Thanks for the clarification.

You bet. Any time.

Oh, by the way, I understand you may owe GMuxx and Shane a refund on some "gifts" as well. You're waiting on a powerdown? Too bad. You need to pay up right now. Because clearly, their attempting to stand up for what is owed to them is being dismissed as unimportant enough to deal with on demand.

Trying to draw a parallel between Pegasus' request and Gmuxx's? The difference being that I didn't respond to Gmuxx hysterically, and REFUSE his request while at the same time accusing him of inciting drama. I believe my response to Gmuxx was, "Of course, I'll send it after my next power down," which will be faster for him (two days) than if I tried to push fiat through Coinbase, Bittrex, or the Atlantic Ocean.

Since we're on the subject of gifts now wanting to be refunded and apparently immediately - how about you refund the $53.00 SBD I'd transferred to your account over the course of my short time at TWB. None of that includes my SFT or contest donations - just stuff to you personally, @rhondak. I'd like it back.

You are aware that it was you all that approached me about what to do with the logo in the first place, right? Why send someone to make an agreement you never intended to honour? No one wanted drama with you, just for you to keep your word. Seems fair enough.

We were making an attempt to be kind and thoughtful. Your antagonistic response removed all desire to extend olive branches.

So what you mean is you reached out expecting permission and your claims to want to respect Peg’s wishes either way were just window dressing. When you didn’t get the response you wanted, you just ignored her.

There was no communication between us between my observation of some very disturbing things that occurred at The Writers' Block, and Negativer sending me that direct message about that logos. I'm sorry if you felt my silence was antagonistic, but I felt if was best if I left quietly. We probably wouldn't even be having this conversation right now had Negativer not come to me about the logo on behalf of The Writers' Block.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90