Poetry/Writing:FOR THE LOVE OF MY LEGS GIVEN BY GOD

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

My legs came to me
with a complaint. They were tired
of supporting me for all those
years. Yes, I have had
legs since before my birth,
I should know how to use them.
Yet here they were
begging me to stop.
Here, I thought those
legs of mine for me
to do as I please. But they
reminded me that they were
only a gift to be grateful
and to care for. What had I
done for them? I pushed
them up mountains,
pounded them on concrete
and they had enough. They
became fire mad in the heel
just above the ankle.
The ankle itself
tired of the many twists
and turn my life subjected
them to. They wanted
a cherry wood coffee table
complete with silk pattern
pillow with a scene
of Venice Gondolier to rest
on. Those demanding toes of mine
have high taste and a mind
of their own. Soak us
in Epson salt water
bubbling in the warm heat
they command, and don’t
let those in grown toenails
have a foothold.
Did I listen, well somewhat
as a husband watching
a championship game,
though hiking I went
again. the pain cries
of enough, or the knees
would form a strike
line and blowout
into a grapefruit size
protest of pain. Ice us,
already, they would
plead. Dance
would become a thing
of the past, if I did
not meet their demands.
Should I pamper
the ungrateful lot?
I brought up times
I paid for their rubbing
with extra virgin golden green
olive oil laced with frankincense,
myrrh and lavender. Did
they forget our times
on hot tubs, the nightly
rest they of 5, 6, 7,
and sometimes, though rarely
8 hours of sleep. Why all
this flare up of pain? Why sharp
jab to the top of the foot?
I ask you, my friends, oh my legs,
who have propped me up
for most of my life. Did I
not stretch our calf
muscles enough to simply
continue the walk on in life?
Remember the time we
ventured and learn to walk
lo so many years ago.
Those careful baby steps
to the cries of joy
of our parents. Yes,
I admit I pushed my legs too long
at times, but I am caught
flat footed by their justified
revolution. Joints once nibble
creak and pop. I have
to confess the condition
of my legs has been
lacking. I have ignored
to long only to have them
wake me in the darkness
of long summer nights
with cramps. I acknowledge
they have a point
those legs of mind
and I must repent
of my neglect
or I will soon find
those legs of mine
have befriended
a cane, walker
or those cool motorize
wheel chairs paid
for with Medicare.
Yes, they are
a gift of God to be cared
for and I do want to run
with my grandchildren
so we will work
together, these
legs of mine and I.
I will pay attention
and be grateful for them
as we continue the hike
of life together.


-fay ❤

unnamed.jpg
Source


hope you'll enjoy reading..

Feedbacks are highly appreciated.

If you want more, just....

✔FOLLOW.... ✔UPVOTE ... ✔RESTEEM...

received_1542060705828980.png

Thank you for dropping by..

God bless us always..

Sort:  

Nice. Upvoted

Thank you..

Soooo deeeeep the leeegsssss ...hehhehe upvote

Tseeehhh.. Hahahaha.. By the way thank you..

Thank you dais..

Nice one😊

Thanks jen

Thank you

This post has received a 0.19% upvote from thanks to: @leslyfay.
For more information, click here!!!!

Send minimum 0.010 SBD|STEEM to bid for votes.

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Wow legs! upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84