Quick English Grammar Chart - Apostrophe Usage

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Writing is an indispensable way of communication,
now more than ever.


I mean, you're reading this, right?

More often than not, we text rather than talk;
and much of our time is spent clacking away on a keyboard.

When you go out into the world, you put on pants, right?
(Ok you usually put on pants, you sickos.)
You comb your hair, you wear clean clothes, you try to make a good impression
on the people who might see you.

So why wouldn't you want to make a good impression when you type?

Now before you go screaming, "Grammar Nazi!" and run for the hills,

know that I'm not here to berate you for misspellings or errors.
We all have strengths and weaknesses, and we work with what we have.

Hell, if I can't add up a number on my fingers,
I need either a pen and piece of paper or a calculator.

But a lot of people simply don't know where to put that confusing little apostrophe, especially our myriad international Steemians who might rarely speak English, if at all.

So I'll be creating a few quick guides on apostrophe usage.

You can print them out and put them next to the screen if you want.
Or save them as reference to use whenever you're unsure.
Or you can print it out just to tear it up into tiny pieces while declaring that
no "grammar nazi" is going to tell you how to type, dammit!

That's fine too.

Thank you for reading!

If you have any grammar or English issues you'd like to discuss,
let me know and I'll do my best to help.

Top two pictures from vecteezy.com

Sort:  

I just enjoyed your post, not joining the grammar think :)
You deserve my vote.

Haha, thank you.

You're welcome

There's, they're, their.....Is that correct?
BTW: there's no need for pants at nude beaches:)

The "their, there, they're" lesson is coming soon. But what you wrote is correct, yes. As is the fabulous example sentence you gave. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16