The wild-west town known as Steemit.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Taking a deep breath in the humidity, I stepped off the porch into the sun shod day. Casting a look back as I walked, it seemed there was too much work to do to finish the home, but I took pleasure in the fact I had made every post myself. I turned again to concentrate on my direction, and headed toward the town. It hadn't escaped my notice new buildings were going up on blocks all down one-cent lane; things were looking like this town would have a future.

sunset-3085578_1920.jpg

Walking down Steem main street, I watched in wonderment at all the different people, from seemingly all walks of life and different places, mingling and sharing their lives with others. I had seldom seen such diversity, and such an eagerness to help one another, which was surely a rarity these days.

It was when I temporarily removed my Stetson to bat at some flies, that I caught the stranger's eye. He seemed to squint from under his stove pipe and then, with a spark of recognition, made his way meaningfully toward me. I placed my hat squarely back on my head to shield the sun from my eyes, and moved my hand to caress reassuringly at the weapon strapped to my side.
He smiled at this and threw out a hand as he approached "Howdy pardner! No need to feel squirrelly. Fact is, with all these newcomers, it's nice to see a familiar face."
Relieved, but still a little wary, I took his hand in a firm shake and offered a "much obliged. How do you know me friend?"

He held the grip on my hand, moved a little closer, and squinted again, as if sizing me up. "Oh, that's right, I've seen you working out there at one-cent lane but you may not have noticed me. I've seen your work and I see you take the time to ensure your posts are made and placed with pride. You probably deserve a place closer to town, but you'll get there, I'm sure. In fact, I'm just over there on one-buck road". He pointed.

I glanced over and nodded knowingly, as if I understood where it was. I didn't. He continued
"Say, I know you are but a few weeks here, do you mind if I offer some words of advice?"
Before I knew it he had thrust a clasped hand around my back to the shoulder and pulled me square to his side. With all the flare of a magician introducing his audience to the props on stage, he arced his other arm, palm outstretched, to take in the town. "This....is the future my friend. A new type of town where all are welcome. Everyone likes to say howdy to new people as it adds diversity to the town and helps it to grow. Just ask most folks and they'll give you the right advice and not steer you wrong".

He seemed to think about these well worn words and became a little serious. His grasp became a little tighter on my shoulder as he moved in to talk with a voice barely above a whisper. His other hand pointed briefly at the large hill outside of town, and as he spoke that same hand moved to gently tap a single finger on my chest as if to punctuate his words. " Hey, see that hill brother? That there is where the Whale family live. They aint so much related as share a name, and that makes every one of them a little different. Some will help you at the drop of a hat, some would rather see your face in the mud for disagreeing with you, and some are just out there to enjoy themselves because they have the best views in town. Heard tell a Whale made a thousand dollars fer saying a handful of words once. The ones below the Whales? that there is their followers, I've heard their family is just as diverse and some call them Remora, just because that's a type of fish that attaches to a whale!" at this seemingly inside joke he seemed to choke slightly and then let out a belly laugh that I could do nothing but feel infected by, I began to smile. My newfound friend palmed my chest gently, and cleared the tears from his eyes. "That's the spirit friend, don't be so serious. You have a chance to make a living like the rest of us!"

Regaining his composure, he let his hand drop and released his grip as if to move away and said "I hear some tubers who heard about this place are coming on the next train. Seems they had a run in with the sheriff out there giving new laws and such. They may be bringing friends. Seems this town is gonna get a lot bigger and crowded before too long."
His gaze became honest then as he started to walk away and he stopped to look briefly back. "Seems we'll have to work a bit harder for a buck eh? Oh well, It was good to catch you, I'd been seeing you around, and spec I'll be seeing you again. Hey, maybe those Whales will see our posts and think we are worth the effort to follow and we'll get a place closer to the other end of town?" He stopped and threw a quick glance at Whale hill then, and turned to walk away. I called out to thank him for his information and friendship, and saw his hand thrust up in the crowd and waving before it was gone and I was alone again. I threw a glance at Whale hill, smiled, shook my head and made my way to the saloon just as a train whistle made itself known in the distance.

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this 💗 your humour is spot on!

Thank you! Always glad to know someone finds it entertaining :-)

I love how you put the whole second week experience into such a clever story. I almost want to do a reading of it. If you ever wanted to do a video and needed some different voices, God willing I'd be down with that. One could say that I fancy myself an actor, and you Sir are clearly a budding master of the digital pen. If you ever wanted to write up a little something, or If you would prefer, just grant me permission to post a reading of this. I could prob do that as well.

Your story, echoes my own experiences on Steemit these last couple weeks. It was delightful to read fiction written during and concerning the very things I'm discovering. For my Appreciation of this first time experience, I would like to create a new hashtag.

#LiveactionREALITYstorytelling

"For your fix of insight and wit check out @leftamessage"

YEP, My comment is totally worth my half cent. Nailed it. One self Upvote coming up.

Ha Ha, another half cent for you!
I like your ideas of perhaps making these types of posts 'real' as thats good lateral thinking to a niche market . Perhaps an audio version of posts from steemit?
I am actually, as you would have noticed, trying a slight curve in my posting to move toward storytelling with a message,and am so far enjoying it. I cannot commit to doing recordings unfortunately, as there are just not enough hours in the day (recording, script adjustments, sound effects etc.) and I want to try and lock down a style at this point before expanding.

However, having said that, If you want to try it out I grant you full privilege of the above post to do a reading with free commercial use for you and hope you might mention me if you do.
Thanks , as ever, for your support. :-)

Yeah, Don't worry If I was to do it. I would make it very clear that you were the author. LOL Yeah I understand, I can't "commit" to doing anything. That's why I tried something different with my last post as well. I'm hoping to do low level crowd funding to motivate me the spend the hundreds of hours that are required my novel. I'm going to release chapters or sections as they are finished. If people show no interest in it, well theirs no urgency. Likewise if people start to reward me for my work then I will probably have to do a lot less comments and a lot more time bringing forth the story.

Dude I like the flavor of your last posts. I think it suits you well. There is wisdom in locking down one's style. I'm afraid that personally speaking i'm a bit to much of a rebel to follow said wisdom.

I know what you mean.... but everyone seems to say consistency is the key. My mind tends to want to wander to fantasy, legends, myths, sci-fi, problems with society etc. But I can see the value to having a particular style and therefor consistency.
oooohhh, a novel huh? too tired to read now but will take a gander 2morrow for sure!

You guys rock! I need to follow you both. Would love to suggest you post to another powerful vote based service here.

As for the voice cover, I'm interested to leard more.

Hey there, Thanks! We were kinda spitballing ideas there, but @imjustsaying seems to have an interesting idea ready to be fleshed out.

I'm curious though as I am relatively new here, can you point me to some info on how the vote based services work? Do you pay or just join/subscribe? thanks.

I will send you a link to the last ine I discovered recently. They support undervaluated posts.

Much appreciated pard'ner!

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Congratulations @leftamessage! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Fun satire on what Steem is like!

Thanks to @sanmi, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57544.69
ETH 3114.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42