You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE LIBRARY #1 - A New Curation Post for Readers and Writers

in #writing7 years ago

Hi @naquoya, I heard in a podcast that you read a lot. My grandmother used to read an average of 2 or 2 books a week! She also wrote a few short fiction stories... if you wanna take a few minutes please check the last of her stories I posted: https://steemit.com/writing/@lavidaesunviaje/a-tale-of-two-giants-original-fiction-story-from-my-grandmother-ella-burley
I’m also a reader... on the last 2 years I have read, I think, more than 40 sci-do books... I love Asimov, Arthur C Clarke and sturgeon... can you recommend some other sci-if author you think I would enjoy?
Thanks!
And let me know if you read my grandmothers story and you like it...

Sort:  

I'm reading a lot at the moment, as I get deeper into writing studies. Part of being a good writer does involve a lot of reading. At the moment I average about 1 per week, so I'm not as prolific as your grandmother. I'm not overly fast, just do lots of it.

I will take a look at her stories when I get the chance - thanks for letting me know about them.

Have you read Ursula K Le Guin, Robert Heinlein, Philip K Dick, Richard Morgan, William Gibson, Roger Zelazny, Orson Scott Card, Ray Bradbury, Kurt Vonnegut, Larry Niven, Frank Herbert, Douglas Adams, Arthur C Clarke, Daniel Keyes, Theodore Sturgeon, J G Ballard, Alfred Bester, Gregory Benford, Olaf Stapledon, John Brunner, Richard Matheson, James Blish, Frederik Pohl, George R Stewart, Michael Moorcock, Andy Weir, Joe Haldeman, Hugh Howey.

These are some of the names I can think of in the Science Fiction genre. There are many more, but you'll find some great books amongst these authors.

I don't know your exact tastes, but I can highly recommend Robert Heinlein - Stranger in a Strange Land, and Joe Haldeman - The Forever War.

Thanks for the suggestions. I only read 4 of those authors so I’m gonna search for the others...
My taste... I loved “ the end of childhood “ the foundation saga, the space odyssey saga, specially loved the “Rama” saga from Arthur C Clarke...
A few of sturgeons books... 🙂

I'm not familiar with all of those author's work, but if you go online and see if any of their novels appeals you should have a lot of choices i would imagine. Best of luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45