The Daily Dose of Improv writing and Saving tools for random ideas.

in #writing7 years ago

Fact.

Writing on the run is one of my greatest strengths. The notebook in the brain is by far the most valuable tool we have as humans because at every waking moment, we can jot down an idea that has potential to become something so much greater.

Wow, wow, wow lots of pressure.

What’s invaluable is training the mind to hold onto those thoughts without pressure of loss. I don’t know about you, but every time I think Do not forget that nugget, its a good one.

Turn onto street...

What am I having for my next meal. Cut to hours later, and the deja uv moment created by a sense, be it a sound, smell, or taste - I remember I was supposed to remember something.

This is good though, but I fell out of the habit of having faith that when I am supposed to write about a topic, it will just falleth from my fingers. An old roomie said that sometimes she just snaps her fingers and says out loud remember. The word can be anything. Save. Document! Bingo$

This is even a good practice when wanting to shift your perspective or mood. Imagine yourself swiping a negative thought and saying Delete. Try it.

Anyways, I am now giving power to the idea that when an idea is supposed to manifest into the world... I will be ready when I put pen to paper... or fingers to keyboard.

That said, even when I step past the hurdle of distraction and choose to focus, that is when the story or idea will be reflected on the page.

Who on here has similar practices? What works for you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12