Structure and Discipline in creativity and time.

in #writing7 years ago

Hi humans,

I’m already starting off this post in my head as if the protagonist is reading aloud as a montage of random strangers goes in and out of frame.

Today, I want to talk about structure and discipline… I think… well we’ll see where the article ends up.

I’ve told myself that I want to write every day… every single day. Erry Day. (Schmidt voice says in head) -- anyone know where this comes from?

Whether it be here on the internet, a notebook, or the notes app -- I am draining the swamp… ewww this phrase might not be so good anymore. Shoot.

Lists, stories, fiction, biographical, my to-dos, drawings. I’M WRITING IT ALL.

No matter what.... And in my style, which will shift time to time.

STRUCTURE and DISCIPLINE

As a wanna-be writer (LAURAAAA) sorry -- As a writer, I know it is important to write. Yep, I know, thoughtful.

Truly though, there are so many people in my life, in this world, that want to be better at something they love. Whether it be writing, filmmaking, designing, drawing, the social network game, politics, -- but very few of them actually do it for any significant part of the day.

Since a large part of western culture is inundated with emails, research, pictures, and our facebook friends statuses, consuming what we think we love 24 hours a day is the norm. When in reality, what we love has been replaced by…

Something greater in which cannot be stopped by force or retaliation, but rather a mindset, and it starts with your own.

I don’t want to be great. I really want to be effective and heartening. I want my thoughts to transform a little idea that was once in my head, and then have a greater presence out in the world.

In order to do so, structure and discipline is where it all begins. I have to retrain my brain to not sit idle, waiting my moment. I take my moment and turn it into substance.

Even though many of us lead very structured lives, as in

  1. Wake up
  2. Coffee or Tea
  3. Shower
  4. Work
  5. Tv
  6. Bed

Is that a beneficial structure?

I’m talking about personal structure… and one step at a time. First, I want to write more -- to develop thoughts, stories, and scripts. To let my ideas flourish.

How do I get there?
By waking up and taking a solid part of the day to let the ideas flow out.

By planning and making time for thoughts that have become uncomfortable because the words are stuck and unpracticed.

10,000 hours. Not worried about definite numbers but more so the action of moving towards it.

We hear a lot of mentors talk about morning practices, but as of late, I have not had one that I do every day. I used to meditate. I used to write. I used to workout.

How can I turn that around… oh yeah, by meditating, writing, and working out. But also, by allowing myself the space to not worry about it.

Moving forward, is failing forward. Growing in strength, is growing in time.

What tools and practices do you use to have structure?

Do you think discipline is useful for creativity?

Let me know your thoughts!

Sort:  

Congratulations @lavenderandlemon! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lavenderandlemon! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15