My haunted house is no joking matter.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

My husband and I own a famous haunted house.

hhm banner 11.jpg

We rent it out by the night to folks who want to experience the paranormal. There are no guarantees, but it is usually active in some way.

I don't answer phone calls. Occasionally I will get a text from a guest...

Guest: There is something strange going on.

Me: Really? What is it?

Guest: We don't know exactly but _ insert a thing that might happen in a haunted house. _ keeps happening.

Me: It's a haunted house.

Guest: Oh, yeah.

from Jennifer Smith cropped.jpg

It always amazes me that people pay to experience a haunted location and then freak out when something paranormal happens. Did they think we were joking? If so, why did they pay to come? I have people text because they smell something funny or because someone was scratched or maybe they hear a baby crying, but can't find it.

Is this not what you paid for?

Haunted locations are fun, but they are also serious and can be dangerous if they're not treated with respect. I'm not talking about Halloween houses with zombies and chainsaws.

HHM by night.jpg

I'm talking about places like The Winchester House or Hill House Manor or Boleskine Manor thanks @kashmirz for the Boleskine Manor piece

Have fun, but be careful!

Thanks for reading. Check out the class I'm taking about steemit #dolphinschool  and have a great rest of the weekend.

 

upvote pic.jpeg

Sort:  

I also live in a haunted house <3 xxx

I read one of your posts about it. I would never actively investigate the house I live in. It would scare me too much. Be careful. And good luck with the EVPs.

I don't live in this house. Though the house I live in has occasional activity. The house I'm talking about has been featured on My Ghost Story and 10 Most Haunted Homes in America. We let ghost hunters investigate for a fee. They rarely leave disappointed. Google Hill House Manor. That's us.

Great Post! I love it, so you do an Air BnB kind of thing, but haunted, that's amazing! In fact, any old house would probably work, haunted or not, for those that don't live in them. LOL I'd love to hear a more specific story. Critique. It is "humor-ish" but, I think even the facts you've given could be funnier. Tell us about an actual text, or incident that made you laugh. otherwise, excellent. Title suggestion, My haunted house is no joking matter. Well done!

I tried a html word processor and the picture part didn't work so, I was going to upload the pictures before I posted and then forgot. I'm more of a dead pan type. My stories aren't usually humorous. I've just never been funny. It's not like a B&B because there are no private rooms or even beds or linens. Groups of up to 10 people rent it for the night, or sometimes longer, to investigate. They bring in a lot of specialized equipment and have a blast gathering evidence. Love the Title suggestion.

@markrmorrisjr made some changes, like adding pics and rewording a couple of things.

Is that a huge orb in that picture with a chair? I don't know but definitely owuld love to read more from you about your house and your own experiences. Please keep writing and also kindly invite me to your channel in discord.

Will do. I have lots of stories. and EVPs and Videos. I'll be sharing as much as I can. Ther'll be at least one ghost story a week if not more.

What? You're in Gainesville? I live in OKC. I may have to come visit your haunted house sometime! HA!

I noticed today that you're from OKC. We get a lot of people from your area. We'll be having a Meetup in the next month. I'll let you know. It doesn't go all night. In fact they usually end by midnight or so. There will probably be a psychic. Just an inexpensive opportunity to look around and see if you want to get some friends together for an all nighter. Of course, I know the owner, so we could probably get you in the side door. lol

Cool, that sounds like fun, and of course, I'll be happy to write about the experience.

Wonder how many other Steemians are in the area? We could have a Steem meetup/investigation! :) @jeejee is in driving distance.

I want to visit The Winchester House, I've been drawn to that place for years.

It is funny that people pay to stay there but then are shocked by it actually being haunted. lol

Did you guys ever live there?

We had to stay there for a few weeks when our house was being remodeled. It's definitely haunted.

That's pretty cool. My cousin's house was featured on the A&E program Paranormal State. They live right up the road from my mom. Here's the episode if you're curious The teenage boy who disappeared that they talk about was a friend of mine. He vanished in 1997 and we couldn't find him. He's still missing =\

Bless, doubt he'll be found but you never know, maybe someday x

I don't think he will ever be found. It's been 21 years. But you never know.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36