Online Dating - A Hook-up (1 of 2)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

An excerpt from "A Shoebox House"
by: Me

Part 1
Chapter 1
January 2017

"It was below zero, it doesn’t matter how much below zero, because anything below zero is too damn cold to go outside. I was content, cozy, sipping a glass of wine, and snuggled with a fuzzy blanket and my co-dependent dogs. New Year’s Eve, the turning point of promises, forgiveness, and everything forgotten; a time for celebration. Many times, I have seen the stereotypes at parties, the Comedian, the Princess, the Huntsman, the DJ, the Chef, the Billionaire; alcohol and food are as abundant as faucet water.

happy-new-year-picture.jpg

I used to participate in the horn-blowing, confetti-throwing, cork-blasting ceremonies, without fail, for years. My visions were not Sugar Plum Fairies and glittering adornments, but baby icicles dangling from my nose hair. My New Year’s resolution requires waiting until the last day of the year to make a resolution, therefore, only committing myself to one day of the resolution, and repeat. Who am I? Single, for 4 years, just chillin’ at home.

I had joined Match.com the month before and I had nothing to compare it to, but I decided I wasn’t impressed. I plucked at my keypad, half bored, in search of refreshing conversation and entertainment. Anticipating a stimulating evening of my cinematic collection, I was interrupted by the “ding” of an email notice. I’ll call him, Greg.

A hook-up. Hmmmm…

The charming character at the other end of the universe took 2nd place to my super-soft blanket and furry friends. The lure was cast, the bait was on, time for trolling, and I was going to bed.

Fuzzy blanket.JPG

It was still below zero on New Year’s Day. The sun’s rays breached the horizon, sapphire emanated across the sky and Montana was bright, clear and beautiful. The notification “ding” worked well - it caught my attention and greeted me with a friendly “good morning” from my suitor. Greg was persistent, like a pendulum, and it was obvious he wasn’t going to give up. I wasn’t ready to relinquish control either and I had every intention of enjoying my day. His witty sleuthing changed my smile into laughter and I was straightforward enough to initiate a few feisty replies from him. Somewhere between dwelling on thoughts of sexual desires, and getting another cup of coffee, I committed to a rendezvous after he granted me the pleasure of being his “prize”. "

Nehs frozen river.jpg

My Durango handled the icy roads like a bobsled. Fortunately, only the crazy people were out driving around, which meant me and a few others. It was dark, lightly snowing, the earth was covered in a sheet of ice, and the words perilous adventure had come to mind.

Thank you for joining me in this post. I appreciate it!
Peace,
Rhonda

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51