Common misconceptions about the rules of writing

in #writing7 years ago

We are having a baby girl!.png
Newbie writers have things tough. They are trying to make it in a crowded market place. It wasn't too long ago that I was in this category. I worried about whether each piece of writing was perfect. If I had written in the right voice. If I was portraying the right message. I was so self-conscious that I would spend hours working on content that could be written in one hour or less.

Though this amount of dedication as a newbie writer was good, it distracted me from the main reason I loved writing in the first place. To say my mind, to have fun doing it, and hopefully get good enough to earn some money from it.

Now as I look back, I am amazed at the many rules I broke by following conventional writing rules out there. I never realized then, being a great writer isn't all about following the rules others have set down, it is about setting your own rules and writing in your own voice.

Here are some of the conventional rules I broke to get a foot into the world as a writer.

Writing 1000 word pieces to convey a piece of Information:

Yes, this was number one. Originally, I had a goal of always writing long content. But over time I realized that the length did not mean that I had great content. I had lot's of words with fluff content that did no one any good.

To write well doesn't mean to write more. To write well means to write in a way that others understand clearly. As a young writer, I had to learn how to distinguish between good writing and great writing. Infact I believe as a writer you don't need to write a large piece if there is absolutely no need for it. Use short simple and self explanatory sentences. Aim to send your message accross in the simplest manner possible.

Using complex words, Even when speaking to experts:

As a newbie, I genuinely believed using high sounding words sounded more sophisticated. So in my writing I always ensure that I sounded like an expert. I used the best words, hoping people will love it due to the melody and flow than due to the knowledge and content. This I approach I must say is very wrong.

You don't need high sounding words to be a good writer. You also don't need buzzwords. Just write sincerely aiming to create understanding. You don't see J.K Rowling using long, complex words, neither does Eoin Colfer (one of my best) or Stephen King. Write from deep down, with the words you know.

Coming up with an excellent first draft:
I must admit as a general rule, all my first drafts suck. I normally write about one, two or even three topics in one draft! Well, that seems like madness and incoherent writing. But there is a methodology to how it works. When you make the worst you can, you can only improve it, the 2nd, 3rd and even 4th time.

Never be afraid to put down your draft. Just write all you think about it. All you know and all you have thought about. Your final draft might look nothing like the original. However, always write it down.

Using all the rules you have learnt in school.
This one is pretty straight forward. As a student, you probably learnt the rules of writing, You know that it is right to use a certain sentence structure. Never start a sentence with "and" and "because". Avoid short forms and don't use slangs. Well, forget all that.

In the real world, none of those matter. They will probably make you look enlightened but you will almost definitely lose the personal touch writers crave. In real life, slangs are used when talking. And we start sentences with "and". We make use of short forms and we are cordial and friendly, why not when writing? As a writer, use a voice you are comfortable with. But always endeavor to connect with the reader in a way he feels like both of you are having a conversation. If you do that, then you make your writing great and conversational.

So dear, Steemians, what other writing rules have you broken to improve your work? I believe you all have exciting answers, please let me know in the comments section below.

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Thanks @jout !! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 59051.02
ETH 2508.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44