LooSe EndS....Trying to make sense of a reoccurring dream.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I have this reoccurring dream for years now, it is terribly sad, and never loses it's shock value. It always makes me feel "some sort of way", lost, unable to focus. I have never tried to describe it before but since it has happened a couple times recently, I will attempt to do so now.

The untouchable....

Everyone I have ever known is in a circle around me, similar to how you would gather to watch a fight or a dance off. Over the years, the crowd has grown as I have met new people, some of you are there also, many of you faceless, but I can feel your presence. Some of the faces are familiar, but I haven't a clue who they belong to. The individuals in the inner part of the circle are all of the people who I have close relationships with. The clerk from the grocery store is there also and my 1st grade teacher. This is a crowd of thousands.

Immediately as the dream begins, something (or likely several things) that are invisible start attacking me, I am in a basement, it feels very much like the scene from "Fight Club". I am unable to adequately defend myself. I scream and protest, beg for help, but there is no sound. Every retaliation I attempt is weakened seconds before impact. I am beaten, bloody, and I can feel the defeat as if it is a character flaw, part of me. No one in the crowd helps me, there is an invisible barrier, they are unaware of my existence. It feels so uncomfortable, isolated. Everyone in the crowd stares blankly, expressionless. I keep reaching out, occasionally it appears that someone wants to grasp my hand.....but it never happens.

I never die, but it always gets to the point where I am army crawling to escape the attack rather than standing on two feet. Every damn time. I try to run and always collide with some kind of barrier that prevents my escape, this always makes a "crash" dialogue box."

Eventually, the attack stops. Everyone vanishes, I am left in a white space, I walk in every direction, leaving perfectly formed bloody foot prints with every step. at the conclusion of the dream, I can no longer see myself, everything is just white and red with blood.

Then I wake up....

I decided to look into what this dream might mean. I am not sure that I believe that dreams can be/should be interpreted , but I figured it couldn't hurt.


This is what http://www.guidetopsychology.com/dreams.htm had to say about disturbing dreams:

"First, the dreams could be unconscious advice. Second, the dreams could be an admonition, based in guilt.
Third, the dreams could be hints of a repressed trauma. Fourth, the dreams could be psychic premonitions."

We are going to go ahead and throw that fourth one away, because....no. I am not aware of any trauma, but if it was repressed I wouldn't be shrug. Since I guess this is more nightmarish than dreamlike, I will also note that a this can be a side effect of PTSD and also a way to deal with aggression and rage. I am not sure that either of these are really applicable to me though.

This one was just interesting: http://time.com/4921605/dreams-meaning/

Freud would obviously assume it was about sex, no matter what the dream was. However, that article right above points to the idea that dreaming may be a form of some sort of mental cleansing. I like that idea. It also pointed out that 90% of what we dream gets forgotten. I am not sure if that is really a fact. How can you measure that, get out of my brain, data collectors. The lovely @lindahas dreams lucidly often, she writes fantastic stories that grow from dreams, check her out.

Violence

  1. Repressed anger
  2. Self punishment
  3. Struggling with an aspect of oneself
  4. Terrified

Blood

  1. Energy Drained
  2. Emotionally Drained
  3. Life

Empty Room

  1. Rejection
  2. Searching for something

Barrier

  1. Overlooked
  2. Obstacle in Emotional Growth/Emotional Repression

Crowd

  1. Feeling Supported
  2. Left out
  3. Being an Individual

After all that, I am not sure any of it feels like it resonates with me. I do spend much of my time exhausted, which does lead to my emotions being a bit off. Maybe I will start with more sleep, I do believe I shall start that right now. Dream on loves.

As always thanks for stopping by!!

All the love-

krazykrista

Additional Sources

https://www.dreamscloud.com/en/dream-dictionary/search/v

http://howtolucid.com/dream-interpretation/

http://www.dreammoods.com/dreamdictionary/

Sort:  

First off, thanks for the mention!

It is funny(not really), I used to have a bit similar dreams when I was younger. Dreams where I was not in control. Where I was running in place, unable to escape. I do not have these dreams lately.

I think, for me it was because I felt like I was not in control over my own life. Yours seems like something similar but completely different.

Those people in the inner circle. Have they ever hurt you? Do you feel alone or loved? Do you get lonely? Most important;y, do you feel like you have to be responsible for everybody? That last bit might e it.

Knowing a little bit about you, how giving you are. You might subconsciously fear that people will not give back(help) if you are in trouble. Anyways, it mostly sounds like fear of something. At least for me. Instability, maybe. Who knows.

Thank you fir trying to help me work through it linda...im not sure what it means...and maybe I dont really want to know...I have a good life...luckily the only thing hurting me is the thing I cant see

6 signs is a good sense of human.

I think the dreams are not connected to real life any how, some dreams scare us that much, we don't try that path in real life, but I think we should always find a positive point in a dream to walk that path, as in your dream you always remain alive.

This is very disturbing. I have a friend that suffers from similar dreams. Some techniques she uses to try to help avoid her traumatic dreams are aroma therapy with essential oils when she gets in bed and focusing on happy and grateful things before falling asleep instead of praying for all the problems in her family, life and the world. The aroma therapy is an essential oil mix with equal parts of frankincense, vetiver, and lime with a few drops applied to the back of her knees, neck and forehead. Hopefully, writing the post and understanding some of the symbolism will also help put an end to them.

many of you faceless, but I can feel your presence. Some of the faces are familiar, but I haven't a clue who they belong to.

Many of us are faceless, yet you feel our presence, we feel yours too, you're such a wonderful person, in my little time with you. This is just to let you know that our faces are ours, and even if you have no idea who we are, but my heart belongs to you.(In unison with you).

As i was reading it, i begin to think of my dream because it's not easy for me to remember my dream. Dreams can be as a result of what we think about before we sleep, or looking at it from religion aspect, Christian believed that dream can be a message to the dreamer or to somebody close to you and the dream will place you as the main focus.
@krazykrista you have passed the message already whoever that this applicable to will definitely know any try to correct his way.

This is a great piece, i love your submission and the illustration.

Thank you.

That does sound scary and exhausting indeed to be honest. I dont know if dreams always have an actual reason for why what happens in them, but it most likely is also a reflection of everything that happens during your day. What to make out of that...i dunno

You are a psychologist!!

Awesome Post! Steemit on Autopilot! GET 0.1 steem just to signup! https://autosteemer.club

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57529.75
ETH 2571.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44