Do something that scares you, it's worth it.

in #writing7 years ago

U5dtPahae6d1WWVpGBfuQmPvAJyYvh5_1680x8400.jpg

If it is both scary and exciting, you should absolutely do it.

I am many things, brave is not one of them. I am adventurous and spontaneous, and in times of crisis, I will absolutely loyally protect you to the best of my ability. However, I do not always rise to the challenge of tackling things that I am unfamiliar with. I often look the unknown in the face and say "meh, maybe later". Since I have become a mother I have been playing things by the "safety first" rule. My kids make me strive to be a better person every day, but they also changed me in a way that made me much more "mom" and a lot less "Krista", I am not sure if this is true of most mothers, but this was my experience. Now that my little dudes are older, I have been finding little bits of myself slowly creeping back in, and as always remolding myself into what I strive to be.

Part of this rediscovering myself period is deciding that I am going to take risks. I feel that it is essential to note here that I am not planning on taking dangerous risks (no mid-life crisis here....yet). This newly improved outlook dictates that if a task or experience is overwhelming and scary, I am absolutely going to pretend that I know what I am doing, and learn as I go.



Progress not Perfection

Venturing into the world of crypto is not something I would have done a couple years ago. I already wasted a couple hundred dollars worth of money (cryptokitties). I have also made what I consider to be good long term investments (only time will tell). Even blogging is a new experience for me. I am so glad that I ventured out of my comfort zone and completely immersed myself in the steemit platform and the DEX (bitshares.org). I have so much more to learn and I am still excited and terrified. Steemit has opened a ton of new experiences to me. I am learning new information, developing valuable skills, getting a glimpse into different cultures, making friends, earning money, and having fun.

Thank you all for being part of this terrifying, amazing adventure!!!

Come Visit me in Whaleshares Discord:

https://discord.gg/qDUmmPC

I'd LOVE to meet you!

Much Love

DQmWF1jvphqwZmyKuDtLeUCDM3XQyG8eXp3muVTeEkzFztL.gif

Sort:  

Its understandable that you would turn your back on Gimp for the genetic perfection of virtual kitties... but posting the pic with the bow on his head? Good thing he has a forgiving heart : ) But seriously, way to go Krista!

You always give me a smile

I really liked, true when one becomes a mother, first is the safety of their children, but at the same time they give you the impulse to grow as a person, and learn to grow to give a better lifestyle. The children are wonderful, the wheel that drives your way... Congratulations I really liked your post....

You crazy krista.. haha. Just kidding. But those darn cryptoKitties! I was contemplating getting into that haha. I'm more of a puppy person.

No I am a bit krazy....it's true

If you are afraid, do it with fear! good post!

progress not perfection

That's true for as long as you are progressing in something, there is always nothing to worry about.
And i think risks make life more exciting, that love for adventure and uncertainty. It makes life more enjoyable.
Will be risking some more.😀

Actually, I did a things I was scared yesterday.

I'm new to cryptocurrency and I bought my first ones yesterday during the big dip.

I was led by Warren Buffet's quote:
"Be Fearful When Others Are Greedy and Greedy When Others Are Fearful".

This is one of my fave quotes. I dont believe that the more you face your fears the more you'll be afraid. This just means that everyday in our lives
We need to do things that scares us since it would make life more challenging and exciting. Im not talking about letting yourself be chased by a dog though. Hahaha

nice post maam

The postings are interesting and worth to read
Thanks for a great share

Very nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81