The Successful Author Mindset [Spoiler-free Review]

in #writing8 years ago

A fresh, honest approach on conquering the thought-processes that come at nearly every step of the indie-author journey

Having followed Joanna's podcast for a while now, I was long overdue reading one of her books. I'd heard amazing things already, and was excited to put this on my Christmas list and give it a read.

This book has been my ultimate motivator to help me on my author journey this year. Due to publish my first full-length novel early this year, there is something every chapter that resonates in some way or another. From advice on keeping going through the writing phases, to the anxiety in hitting 'Publish', to just generally being confident enough to look ahead to the future with your indie author career.

The format is beautiful, the theme is clear, and it's a nice touch seeing quotes from famous creatives from across the realms of time. In a way, it sort of brings you closer into the writing community and makes you feel like you're really a part of it.

On top of the advice, Joanna includes snippets from her own journals from across her years of writing, giving you a real inside look into the working mind of an author, from starving artist, to 7-figure authority. I think, for me, these are the most helpful bits, seeing someone going through struggles that you've been through / are working through, and it's rare to see an author open up about stuff so personal and raw.

Overall, I think this is a perfect addition to any reading list from authors / creatives looking to find the best ways to tackle their doubts and springboard into a successful author mindset.

Overall score: 9.6 / 10

Get your copy here

Sort:  

It's very interesting post!
Great job ..I follow you now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44