KLYE's Munchies Review - Pillsbury Pizza Pops: Poutine

in #writing8 years ago

Maple Syrup, Moose, Hockey & Poutine...

All wonderful things that make winter somewhat hospitable in Canada, A vast resource rich land which happens to be a frozen wasteland for over half of the year. The wizards up in the Pillsbury company have come up with the ULTIMATE Canadian idea, that being Pizza Pops: Poutine snacks. I'd managed to find a box to review for Steemit.com's reading pleasure.

The box pictured above was less than $5 CAD after taxes. Not a bad deal really considering how damn weak the Canadian Dollar is currently! I've always been a massive poutine fan ever since growing up in central Canada so I only figured it would be proper that I taste Pillsbury's offering of Poutine in Pizza Pop format.

For those of you that haven't had the pleasure of knowing oF poutine, it's a simple snack built with french fries, white cheese curds and then smothered in a beef or chicken gravy. Some people like to bake their poutine after throwing it all together to get extra melty cheese going on it should be mentioned.

The Goods

I've snapped some shots below of the nutritional info so folks can have a look!
( Mmmm, Sodium )

And of course, A picture of the ingredients list of these snacks!

The Preparation

Since I was a young lad I've been eating the classically flavoured Pizza Pops..! Why? Because I've always had a hell of a time justifying cooking something to eat for an hour or two only to wolf it down in 5-10 minutes and spend another 30 minutes afterwards cleaning the vessels the prior meal was cooked in.

Pizza Pops are a great way to take in tasty processed calories! If your country doesn't import these delicious normally pizza flavoured snacks I highly suggest you find a way to get a pack just so you aren't missing out!

Stick em in the microwave on a biodegradable yet microwaveable (paper) plate for 2 minutes 30 seconds and by time you come back into the room it will smell very similar to delicious poutine.. For a man like myself who enjoys eating but hates cooking and doing dishes..

This is damn near perfect..!

The Taste

While I admit the smell of these Pizza Pops cooking was insatiable..

I dissected one of the 2 Pizza Pops so Steemit could see the innards. The contents include a plethora of chicken gravy, small hash brown like fry bits and some form of mozzerela cheese.

Once again I've got to mention the smell of these cooked snacks! They smell damn near like a real poutine! I grabbed a chunk of these poutine filled pockets of dough and had a bite..

Sadly the contents weren't as tasty as I'd hoped! Perhaps I'm a "poutine purist" but I found that the gravy was too strong tasting compared to the limited cheese they had filled the snacks with. While not the best poutine offering I've ever tasted it wasn't that bad..!

KLYE's Munchie Rating


4 / 5 Steaks on the Snack Scale

While not the best poutine I've ever tasted the Pizza Pop Poutine isn't the worst thing I've ever tasted! For a fast, on the go poutine I don't think this can be beat however. A lighter gravy would have been preferred with some more cheese but overall these are a delicious snack featuring a great classic Canadian taste in a finger food. Great for folks that love poutine!

Sort:  

Make them yourself. Freeze them yourself. Totally easy.
Well, I guess its not totally easy, especially if you are already craving a Poutine.

You understand the struggle!

Sadly my cooking skills don't go far beyond cooking steak on the barbecue and boxes of Mac'n'Cheese.

While in the future I'll likely pick this up again in a pinch it isn't exactly comparable to the real thing.

Mmmmmmm Poutine

I see you're a man of fine taste!

You know it!

Can you believe I grew up minutes from the border in Michigan yet I never tried poutine until I moved to Panama of all places?

Regardless it's good stuff.

That's nearly blasphemous sir!

They serve Poutine in Panama?! This is valuable knowledge!

There is one and only one Canadian deli here

Hmmm. If I'm ever in that neck of the woods I'll have to get the location of it off of you. Poutine abroad is basically the Canadian dream.

I like this post a lot lol :)
Hockey and snacks!

I saw them in the store and my first thought was a Steemit review. XD

I love good poutine too. I also love pizza pockets. I would try it, bravely.

nice share

If I could figure out a way to ship em to you so they wouldn't spoil on the journey I'd totally send you a box..!

haha that would be awesome. China is too strict.

I have to have this

Hahahahah. If I can find some way to ship you a box I'll totally do it.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 31. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.26 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 31 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Like your last pic, I imagine to your drawing at your profile pic :D

Poutine is so good. In Springfield, MO of all places, we just had a pub that started offering poutine on their menu of delicious bar fare. I've been blown away at how many people have never tried it!! Ultimate munchies as it is...can only imagine it nestled in a breaded, microwaveable pocket!!!

Bring us more Munchies reviews, @klye! Perfect accompaniment and compliment to your medical reviews.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51