I found some old poetry...

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I was looking through some of my older writing papers not too long ago and happened to stumble upon some old poetry. Although I am very fond of my poems, I feel that they need a little bit of working on.

I never really considered writing poetry until a friend shared all his poetry with me. I guess I got some inspiration from them to give it a go, I have added a couple of my older poems below. Hopefully they are enjoyable to others as they are for me.

Setting Myself Free

I love the way you make me feel;
Like you help these wounds heal;
I had stopped my heart filling with fear;
Until you decided to make it tear;
I waited for you to seal the deal;
For those words I did not hear.

Awaiting in our humble abode;
For the next emotional episode;
I cannot seem to gain control;
Forever on a downward roll;
I should of read the signs in the code;
For I could of gone aboard the ship that rode.

I guess this is my last goodbye;
For I must go on to fly;
I know I was such a boar;
I can go on to the skies to soar;
There's no limit, I can go fly high;
Allow myself to be me, without a flaw.

Farewell, my friend;
This is the end;
I am just being me;
I am setting myself free.

Me and My Meerdog

My meerdog, standing tall;
Awaiting my mighty call;
I quickly kneel, so I don't fall;
On these soggy wet leave, outside the mall.

I love the way he jumps;
Giving me the sweetest bumps;
Pressing gently on all three lumps;
One day he will come up trumps.

My dearest meerdog;
Deep in the fog;
I can't see you or the log;
Waiting to find another dog.

Deep in the woods;
Covering our heads with hoods;
Blocking out other people's moods;
Enjoying natures purest broods.

Me and my meerdog;
Having a short jog;
escaping the heavy fog;
Not getting playtime with another dog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63042.32
ETH 2458.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65