Figuring out what Social Media means to you, will help you understand why you should Steem.

in #writing6 years ago

Social Media is a whole different world from the traditional world we have come to know and many still do not understand what it all means.


I have been getting really serious with my blog on Steemit and I am trying to make sure i get really into it like i did with Facebook and instagram, don't get me wrong, I am still on those sites and use them well, I just feel that Steemit is more appealing because I get to hang with the crowd that innovates.
****steemit
During my brief stint on Steemit and also working with a team that aggressively preaches Steemit and trains people as well, I have come to see one ugly and unacceptable pattern and that is the complaint of the 'High Cost of Data.'
The debate has been on about how difficult it is to stay online as an African and I just shake my head sadly whenever I hear people complain. Yes, I do and I think it is absurd that people will complain about that as a reason not to be able to maintain an active Steemit engagement.

Last night while chatting with one of the recruits I have been mentoring, he dropped that word and I just felt really upset.
Okay, let me tell you why I was upset, this person has 3000 friends on Facebook and spends his time doing whatever he says he does online for nothing and yet, he complains about having to spend too much on data on Steemit that offers a way out.


IF IT IS IMPORTANT, YOU WILL STAY ONLINE.


The argument is laughable and I will continue to laugh it off every and anytime someone mentions that as a reason not to be able to maintain a successful Steem life.
Before Steemit, I made sure to sacrifice a lot to stay online including borrowing airtime to purchase data for a venture that does not reward me.


I remember one time back when I was still in school, I desperately needed to get into Facebook and had no data. I couldn't borrow airtime because I was still owing the network provider for the last one I borrowed.
After unsuccessfully trying to get friends to give me a loan, I approached the vendor selling airtime and bought airtime on credit and promised to pay before the end of the day and that was one promise I didn't keep because, the money never came.

For the next 3 days, I avoided the vendor and when he caught me, I had to explain some unrealistic stories and when i finally paid him, he was so pissed he never gave me credit again.

What was it I wanted so badly to do online that I had to go borrow airtime? Was that venture a money making one?
Well, your guess is as good as the truth.., Nothing!, Nothing was what I was trying to do online and today, i wonder if it was Steemit and I borrowed that airtime and got data to post an article that had the potential of returning with a reward, would I not be sure of what i was doing online and why that airtime was important?


I tell many of these newbies of the need to keep the grind and never stop trying to find their places on Steemit and the internet of things.

The need for data is important to maintain a profitable Steeming lifestyle on the internet, but you also need to have the time to understand what it means to you to be online and do some work in abid to earn some Steem.


The Steem Acclerator Hub has this very big dream that providing free internet for Nigerians is doable and so far from the flagship Hub in Port Harcourt we have been able to see it is possible.

But before a STACH comes to your city, do well to first understand what you are doing online and if you have to borrow airtime to stay online like I did, make sure it is for reasons that will return as profitable investment.


Image source. Steemit.com

follow_kingst.gif

Sort:  

This article is golden.

I just love you!
You read my mind. This was my ordeal initially, complaining about it's heavy data usuage. But I thought about it, Is it not better for me to subscribe and steem that subscribing for little bundle on my other social media. Atleast I get to earn on this platform.
Steemit has come to mean so much to me in a short while.

Congratulations @kingst! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99