Metric Riddle #1 What Am I?

in #writing6 years ago

photo-1462717585237-7fafe19c5448.jpg

Half-man half-beast I seem to be
A thousand years is naught to me
For I watch kings and kingdoms die
Gods in life now lower lie

In plundered graves they rest no more
Yet still I stand, through plague and war
My broken face hath robbed me not
My majesty is ne'er forgot

What am I?

This is the first of what will be a series of riddles written in the classic metric style. See if you can guess the answer. This one shouldn't be too hard.

Sort:  

No, something bigger. Much bigger.

Ha, I can see how you arrived at that answer! However, the correct was posted below if you want to see it.

I think you did not try to really make this one tricky. The Sphinx ... or is it a trick...

Not at all, you have it! Congratulations! You're right though; this one was intended to be introductory, and therefore a bit easier. Well done though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65