#Nothing is hard after this

in #writing7 years ago

In my #introduceyourself post, I said I’d climbed Mt Kilimanjaro in 2009 and reached the summit with a group of women during August, South Africa’s Women’s Month. Let me tell you about the final summiting experience.

summit

That's the summit in the distance. When we saw it through the trees on the first day of our hike, we realised what a ridiculous task we'd set for ourselves. But we were en route, and there was no turning back.

Skip to Day 5, Summit Night

Fast forward, because this post is about the really hard part of summiting Kili, not just the kind of hard part getting there....

At the final point before a night summit climb on the Machame Route, you arrive at Barafu Camp (4680m/15220 ft) sometime in the afternoon after a day's climbing, and that is after 3 or 4 days previously climbing over lava fields and with increasingly lower air pressure, meaning less molecules in the air, meaning less oxygen in the air. You’re supposed to sleep from late afternoon to around 11:00 at night to get ready for the final ascent, which begins around midnight or so. Don’t catch me out on the details, as I don’t remember them other than as smudges. Pretty much nobody gets any sleep - we're all too wired. We have our tea sometime after 11:00 and assemble with the several hundred other climbers hoping to make it to the summit by the next morning.

The entire camp empties out slowly in the windless (thank goodness) air, and silently, magically, a dazzling worm of diamond Petzel head lights ascends the steep but climbable slope. The worm is silent the way the aurora borealis is silent – it seems like it shouldn’t be. There should be music. But there isn’t, only Kili silence. The music is in my head.

lightworm
Photo credit

Imagine there are hundreds of those lights silently snaking down the mountainside. The photo, which I appreciate someone having the presence of mind to take, doesn't begin to capture the eerie beauty of the light serpent. It was an inspiring start.

At this altitude , there is effectively 57% of the oxygen available at sea level – good thing I live in Johannesburg, at about 1750m/6000 ft above sea level, I sez to myself. Every step up takes concentration and synchronisation with breathing, to use the little oxygen our lungs manage to scrape from the thin air most efficiently. That’s for us guests to the mountain. The amazing support team practically run up and down as we slog one foot ahead of the other. I’m thinking as I lift one leg to ascend 6 inches that I’m really glad I listened to my trainer when he said that using major muscle groups uses more oxygen than, say, lifting my pinkie finger. Each step demands the concentration of a surgeon to execute.

It’s all silent, except for our breathing and the occasional attempt at rah-rah, which we use more and more because it’s getting scarier and scarier. About that breathing – this is not regular breathing. There is no air there. You have to suck for each molecule of oxygen, and the sucking takes energy. Lots of energy. It’s an in-out energy balancing exercise. Spend to get. Invest for short term return. Manage your resources. Sometimes we need to replenish some of that energy by taking a bite of an energy bar – and that takes energy too, to take off the gloves (cold!), unzip the pocket and unwrap the bar (both actions harder than they sound with fingers that have frozen almost instantly with gloves off), then take a bite and chew. Such small capabilities we take for granted in friendlier atmospheres!

It’s a little like taking prep breaths to do a deep surface dive into the ocean, except without the reward of oxygen. And we’re perched on the side of a steep dormant volcano with the other climbers the only living creatures around. Around 4 a.m. I feel genuine fear that we could freeze up there (completely misplaced – there’s no way the guides would let any of us come to harm). My group is a little slow since a couple of our members are struggling and need to take frequent breaks. Other groups are passing us, but pole pole (kiSwahili for “slowly, slowly”), one foot in front of the other, our amazing guide and leader Rajab, he of more than 200 summits to his credit (at the time - I'll have to ask him, or he can tell you himself if I persuade him to join Steemit to tell his extraordinary stories himself), continues to prod us on to keep moving forward and upward. And to stop only for the briefest of rests to catch what little breath we can.

Rajab
Rajab

On the way to Stella Point, we paused to watch the sun rise, maybe around 5 a.m. A remarkable moment, yes, and oh good, it got warmer after that, but we couldn’t stop for long to enjoy it as we were like puffins on a cliff face at that point. Not that steep, and the ledges not that narrow, perhaps, but not comfortable enough to pop out the chaise longues either. Each look upward looks like it’s getting to a terrace just a few metres above us, but it’s an illusion. Each terrace takes us to another piece of cliff to scale, one foot at a time, then another terrace, then another.

Then Stella Point. Our mental “if I can make it there, I’ll make it anywhere” mark, which is at 5752m/18871 ft. Oxygen count up there? 50% of that available on sea level.
From there the gradient levels out to much flatter (by then, who knows), so you’d think the maybe half a km walk to the actual summit would be a 5 minute doddle. Bwahaha! I think it took us over half an hour, all the more frustrating as one of the few species to thrive in that atmosphere, a local raven, had a number of representatives soaring around us. How could they fly, when we couldn’t even walk?!? Step, rest, breathe, step again, rest again, breathe again.

Someone ahead of us blew a vuvuzela, one of South Africa’s quirkiest exports.

How?? With what lungs exactly? But it egged us on. We plodded on, pole pole. And then, miraculously, we were at the summit, 5895m/19340 ft, 49% oxygen.

summit

Tears of joy streamed down our faces as we laughed and hugged each other and allowed the emotions to wash over us.

And we have our certificates to remind us.

certificate

Nothing is hard after that.

Sort:  

What an amazing feat to attempt such a climbing. I think people should attempt to reach one of these obstacles in life. A great story of mind over matter through sheer determination! Have fun out there and good luck with your future posts!

Thank you, @rymlen, much appreciated! Although there is an irony here...it might be harder getting rid of that hash in the title....

Its really great what you have done , challenging your self and all that.
The brain i believe is designed to protect us from going beyond our thresholds but the reality is ,its beyond this threshold that true joy lies..
I really love people who push themselves in life and please keep posting more.

Thanks, @kwakumax. As an engineer you might be able to relate to this than maybe others could - I realised my mental training came from preparing a huge proposal for an infrastructure project, with teammates, over months and months where we simply had to put one foot in front of the other and make sure we were farther ahead at the end of each day (in the right direction - a great proposal). What I'm trying to say is that the mental training was every bit as important, if not more, than the physical training. The discipline to listen to our guide when he would tell us to slow down was essential, even if we really wanted to get to camp early. He knew we had to manage our acclimatisation to the increasing altitude carefully over days.

Wow. I am amazed that you achieved such a (to me) crazy thing. I truly do believe it is important to set goals that seem so out of our reach and to go for them. I can only imagine the pride and sense of accomplishment you feel having gone for it and succeeded. Thanks for sharing this!

Can I love this comment rather than liking it, O @dalerog? Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to your #introduceyourself post 🤗

Wow...this is not a child's play big ups to you. So proud you killingitgirl meant @kiligirl

Thanks, @mokluc, that's really kind of you! And funny ;-)

Congratulations @kiligirl! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing your wonderful adventure

What an accomplishment! I have always wanted to summit one of the major mountains. I will have to reprioritize things if I ever want to actually do it now, sports have taken their toll on my body and I would need to really build myself back up to be able to survive such a strenuous task. Congratulations again to you for making it all the way up!

Thank you, @mk40! And to give you some encouragement, that climb is not technical or for the hyper-fit; it's a long and mentally demanding hike with some tricky but manageable bits. The lack of oxygen means some people simply can't make it to the summit. But many who try it do manage it.

That is actually very encouraging. Next step would be finding my way to Africa now! It is just so expensive for me coming from the US. I wanted to head there for my honeymoon this past month, but the flight and lodging alone was going to cost around $7k. One day though, I promise myself I will make it to Africa, it looks like such an amazing place.

Here's to that!!!

That is just bad Ass, really well done! I have never ever been that high but 49% oxygen level sounds painful to do demanding climbing like you did. I have not check the rest of your blogs but I expect you most have tried something similar before such a challenge? After reading this I will never complain about another mountain or hill in my bike tour! Haha keep it up! :) thanks for sharing, I will keep a eye on you from now!

Thanks, @holm, nope, we just decided to do it. Thank we did lots of hikes and stairs. Did I say lots of stairs? LOTS of stairs. And my trainer had me doing bunny hops with a pack on, among other great ways to strengthen the legs. Loads of fun. I much preferred the actual hike, which was extraordinary each and every day, each moment.

Very impressive! Yes I can imagine the hike itself most have been memorable. Even with descriptions and pictures, it's hard to show the true beauty of such a hike. Good vibes!

You are so right. It has to do with the clarity of the air, the vastness of the views, the way our voices didn't have anything to bounce off along many parts of the journey, the utter weirdness of birds flying at that altitude.... I really hope Rajab joins the platform so he can share his vast experience and wisdom acquired during his many summits (I'm working on him!). He is extremely knowledgeable about the flora, fauna, geology, ecosystems and microclimates of the mountain.

Very empowering!

Indeed it was! The journey still lives with me, inspires me and reminds me that a little humour goes a long way....

Amazing! You're a very strong woman. :)

Thank you, @beng05 - three out of the four women in our party made it to the summit that day :-). We arranged to do it around South Africa's Women's Day (9 August) as we felt the symbolism was important. What we learned is that the journey is even more mental and emotional than physical. The principle of pole pole has stayed with me since then. One foot in front of the other, slowly, slowly (but not too slowly!). Short term pain, long term gain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 62134.65
ETH 3418.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51