Farewell to love

in #writing6 years ago

farewell-3258939_1280.jpg


While unproven
I thought there was a deity in love
A never-failing god
So I gave it reverence
And worship, as atheists when the hour of death beckons
Supplicate what they cannot name, an unkown god,
So did I crave love, ignorantly.
I thought I loved her,
And sometimes she loved me too.
I thought the deity in love,
Had knitted us together as strings of a lute
But the truth is fractured,

Flawed by desires I fashioned prematurely
So these are the last lines I'll ever write for love:
The night is fractured, and they shiver, those stars in the distance, until they cannot hold back their tears.
I shall not desire,
What no man has found.
I shall not dote and run,
To pursue things fashioned to damage me.
So love,

Wherever you go,
I hope you shelter not in the hearts of men.

IMAGE TAKEN FROM PIXABAY

Sort:  

so nice,,keep it up @khojo

I love the poetry

Nice work man

I love the imagery of this poem ..thanks @khojo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.64
ETH 2393.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64