The Girl By The Sea - Original Story

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

2017-08-03 12.14.23 1.jpg

We all have that one point in life where we experience something odd & mysterious that leaves us all asking the questions why & where. It leaves us hanging with so many puzzles we couldn’t complete or questions we couldn’t answer.

When I was fourteen, I had paid my grandfather a visit in his small town together with my mom & dad. I’d always loved to visit him. I also loved where his house was situated. It was right beside the sea. I always came every summer. Every visit I’d made always gave me some life lessons from him & some experiences I wouldn’t ever forget. This time made a lasting impression for me since I had met someone.

One morning I’d decided to take an early morning stroll by the beach. I found my way to the gangway where I decided to sit, with my feet dangling down to the slightly deep blue water below. I was startled when an unfamiliar voice called me.

“Hi there,” The tiny voice said. I looked towards the end of the gangway & found a girl about my age peeking there with her hands on the deck. She was all wet, with her flowing brown hair dripping down on her face. I could remember she was wearing a plain white sleeveless shirt or could be a dress. I couldn’t see the half of her. “Would you like to be my friend?”

I faced her. “Yeah, sure, but isn’t it too early to take a swim? Isn’t the water cold?”

“The water’s fine.” She smiled. She swam towards where I sit. I could see her clearly now. She was one of those pretty girls with clear brown eyes & cute freckles across her nose & cheeks. She stretched her hand towards me & said, “My name is Tara. It’s nice to meet you.”

I shook her hand. “I’m John.” I smiled. “Would you like to come up here & sit with me?”

“No, thanks, I’m good. I can stay here & just swim. I love the water. It’s my home.” She said as she swam back & fort. Sometimes she would dive below & would eventually pop up.

“Are you new here?” I asked. “I’ve never seen you around here last summer nor the previous summers.”

She looked at me. She was just floating steady in the water. “I’ve actually been living here for as long as I could remember. I remember you the previous summers. You used to sit there by the beach & play your guitar. I also remember seeing you making sand castles, but that was from when you were younger.”

“Really?!” I was surprised. I’ve never remembered her from anywhere. And as far as I knew, there was only one kid in the neighborhood my age & he was a boy. His name was Kevin & he couldn’t even walk. “You should’ve come to me those days so we could’ve met earlier. I love this place, but there aren’t any kids around to be friends with. I could teach you to play the guitar.”

“That’s very kind of you.” She smiled. “I’m sorry I didn’t introduce myself earlier the past years you were here. I was very shy then. But hey, at least we’re friends now. Do you wanna take a swim with me?”

“Down there?” I looked at the water hesitatingly. “I could but I don’t think so. It’s so early in the morning & it’s kind of cold. I’m sorry.”

She swam near to the gangway & placed one of her arms on the deck. She was facing me. “I understand. The water is really cold though. You might not like it. The cold may sting.”

“Are you not bothered by the cold?” I asked. “Come on, sit here.” I tapped the deck beside me.

“You’re silly.” She laughed a little. “I told you, I’m fine.”

We talked about things. What she liked. What I liked. What I hated. What she hated. She was so enthusiastic telling me how happy she was to finally meet someone her age that she could talk to and how sad she was for a very long time for having no friends at all. I stayed on the gangway while she stayed in the water. I actually enjoyed watching her swim back & fort. I enjoyed every bit of her laugh & every sparkle of her smile. We even talked about how beautiful the sea was. I told her about why I only visit every summer & how I would love to stay if it weren’t because of school. She told me that I was the first friend she had in town, which was quite odd to hear, but I didn’t mind. We were talking about how my dad taught me to play the guitar when I heard my grandfather called from the front porch of the house.

“John, boy!” Grandfather called loudly. I looked to the house. “It’s time for breakfast!”

“Okay, Grandpa!” I shouted back. “I’ll be right there with you!”

“Oh, it’s time for you to go.” Tara frowned.

“Don’t worry, I’ll be right back after breakfast, then we could talk again.” I said as I stood up, not taking my eyes away from her. “I have so many things to talk to you about, you know.”

“Hmm,” She was deep-thinking. “I don’t know.”

“What do you mean?” I asked, puzzled. “When I get back, you’ll still be here, right? Or maybe we could talk later if you’re free.”

“Well, maybe.” She shrugged with a smile. “I hope my mom would let me roam around here once again. I’ll do my best to be back though.”

“Okay, wait for me!” I told her as I ran back to the house. Grandfather was waiting for me by the door, sipping his cup of coffee with the local newspaper in between his armpits.

“What took you so long, boy?” Grandfather asked. We were both walking towards the kitchen.

“Oh, I met a girl, grandpa,” I told him. He placed his other hand on my head. “She’s there by the gangway. Her name is Tara.”

“Tara?” Grandfather repeated. “I’ve never heard of that name from the neighborhood. Is she new?”

“No.” I told him. “She said she lives just close by & that she lives here for quite a long time now.”

“Well, I only know one little girl from the neighborhood. She’s the daughter of that policeman down by the block. Her name is Lucy. She just turned five. I don’t know any Tara.”

“Maybe you just don’t know her, grandpa.” I told him.

“This town is so small, boy.” Grandpa said as he sat down on his chair by the table. “I know every person in town from the oldies to them little kiddies. Your old man still has good memory.” He chuckled.

I quickly finished my breakfast & went back immediately to the gangway with my guitar. The sun was up but Tara was nowhere to be seen. I sat on the gangway & played a song. I waited for her. I was hoping she would be back. But after a couple of hours, no Tara came.

The next day was the last day of my vacation that summer. I woke up a little late. I walked down by the beach towards the gangway hoping that Tara would be there waiting for me but there was no one except for a small piece of paper on the gangway placed with a sea shell on top to serve as weight so that the wind wouldn’t blow it away. I took it. It read:

It’s nice to meet you, John. We’ll meet each other again. –Tara

I had so many questions. Why? Why didn’t she even say goodbye? Where did she go? Was she really from the place? Would I ever see her again?

It's been a year now since I've last visited my grandpa. It's also been a year since I've met this mysterious girl by the sea named Tara. She never actually left my mind. Sometimes, I even dream of her which I find quite puzzling since we've only known each other for a really short period of time. It's odd but I do hope of seeing her once again.

I am currently standing in front of the porch of my grandfather’s house for another visit this year. I was wondering, will all my questions be answered? If I walk back there to the gangway, will I ever see a girl?

I walked towards the house, put my things down on the couch & headed right to the shore, hoping that once again I’ll meet that mysterious girl by the sea.■


Hey there, readers of the Steem Community! I'd like to share this original work of mine to all of you. This was a short story I made about three years ago which was inspired by my deep fascination of the ocean and mermaids.
I hope you enjoy reading the short story as much as I enjoyed writing it! :)


Sort:  

You mean the girl is a mermaid?

For me, yeah, a creature that's not human. But I've wrote the story and designed it to keep the reader hanging and let them figure out who the girl was. She could be a ghost, a mermaid, or just an ordinary girl. It's really up to the reader on how they imagined Tara to be :)

Ohhhh I see hahahaha thank you 😊

No problem. I hope you enjoyed it though :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17