Why You Should START Coloring!

in #writing8 years ago

Mindfulness

One of the reasons we are so stressed all the time is because of our focus on future and past events. We rarely sit down and just focus on the now. Coloring can help you practice mindfulness. Life isn’t as bad as it seems. You can relax with a coloring book and just focus on how good you feel right now. Yeah, I make coloring books, And yes. I am doing a little advertising by using MY covers Lol!

Meditation

Many people don’t meditate. Mediation can reduce our overall stress levels It can help us focus on the now, And promote a healthy lifestyle. It improves concentration, It even slows aging. We always claim that we don’t “have time” or that mediation isn’t worth doing because it’s too simple, It can’t possibly have such a big impact. But in reality we could spend a little more time meditating. The coloring is a healthier alternative to meditation. Plus you get a physical product when finished.

We feel less lazy

Lets face it, We are addicted to multi-tasking. Maybe you’ll curl up, watch Netflix while coloring, Or you’ll color while listening to podcasts or music. For many people, it’s hard to do one thing at a time because we are so used to doing multiple things at a time.

You can feel accomplished

When you finish a coloring page that you worked so hard on, It’s hard not to feel accomplished. You created you very own work of art! Many people who don’t have skills with painting and drawing, Don’t get that same satisfaction that other artists do. Coloring gives you the opportunity to feel good about what you have done.

It gives us a chance to socialize:

The internet, and our ability to reach anyone we want in the world pretty easily, has made us less social. We don’t go out as often as we used to, and we don’t communicate in person very often. We have become isolated and alone. In a world where their communication can be so easy. Coloring gives you the chance to make friends and be around people. You can color with others, many colorists have coloring parties, and get together, where they can creatively express themselves. You can color in different books, The same books, Or even trade books! It also gives colorists an opportunity to see a wider range of the wide selection of coloring books out there.

Trains your brain to focus

Many of us multi task too much! Some of us have ADD or ADHD. It can be hard to focus! Coloring helps train your brain to focus on something. Focus logically on the selection of colors, Focus creatively on making your color scheme fun! The ability to focus is so important in many aspects If we can’t focus on something it’s harder to get it done!

You can express yourself.

Maybe you keep a journal; maybe you don’t. What do you do when you need to express yourself? Do you scribble? Do you draw? Paint? Adult coloring gives us a creative outlet to adequately express ourselves in a healthy way. Which is a good thing for everyone, children, Adults? Whoever you may be! Everyone has feelings and emotions, Being able to get those on paper is good for our mental health and our overall well-being.

It takes you back to childhood.

Those good old days where a scrape on your knee was the worst of your problems. Back when everything was a fun adventure. And You could spend all day playing. Many adults miss those times. Back when you had a Barbie or car coloring book! Now you can relive that and color again This time, more adult themes.

Like reading a book, Or watching a movie.

Coloring books can take you to another time far away from what you are used to. It can remove you from daily life and put you in a place you wouldn’t normally expect. This also eases your mental troubles, because you can travel to another land for a while.

Free decorations

You can have your art framed at an art supply store, or do it yourself. You can hang it on the wall. Or glue it to a lampshade. Be sure to look on Pinterest for things you can do with your colored pages! You can even buy a large binder with sheet protectors and set it on your coffee table for everyone to see! If you have a laminator, you can make your coloring pages waterproof and create yard decorations. Many people even give away coloring pages as gifts, Colored greeting cards. The possibilities with that are endless.

Sort:  

I'm thinking of trying this just to get me used to doing some traditional art again because going right back to analogue painting with oil paints is kind of intimidating. I like the idea of using it as meditation too. Could you recommend any particular books and what pencils or markers should I use?

Oh, yes! I'm 53 and I colored with my children and now my grandchildren and especially by myself. I find it very meditative. As a matter of fact, I was just working on this simple beauty when I came across your post!


Peace

Me color ?!
Can barely connect the dots!
HAHA!
Enjoyed the mixture of pictures.
Keep up the great work! :)

I've always been just terrible at saying in the lines :)

I sometimes draw ..but only to relieve my stress, hate and pain that I feel on a daily basis.
Sometimes is so hard to be calm that I just want to ... poke the head of the person that is next to me ...and like that I start to draw something...sometimes is a mess sometimes not...

My wife like to color and finds it very relaxing

I've only recently begun coloring again. It brings me back to childhood, as you said, but it also brings back great memories of crafting with my kids when they were young. :)

Great post! I haven't colored in years and your article reminded me of how much I used to enjoy it. It sounds like a fun way to decompress - I'm going to look into getting some coloring books thanks to your inspiring article. :)

Arghhh :D I can't wait for the coloring markers I have been thinking of ordering!

Most of my drawings are not colored, gonna be fun to upgrade them 7 years later :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39