How Steemit Gave Me The Confidence To Write Again

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

In Elementary school, I was one of the best writers in my whole grade. I wrote poems, stories and other great stuff. My teachers were in awe by my creativity and always wanted more.
In Jr high, and I was dealing with a lot of bullying, I used writing as an outlet for my pain. I wrote dark poetry and sad stories. Again my teachers were thrilled with my ability to write.

Back then teachers didn’t say that kind of thing unless they meant it, Not everyone got that “Gold Star”.

In high school, It’s like everything fell apart, I could get an A if I really wanted to, But English became really hard for me, My writing wasn’t good enough anymore. It hurt but It wasn’t the end of the world. I started drawing instead and I became good at it.

I was happy with the way things turned out.
I decided to write a nonfiction book, On selling your stuff, Because I’ve always been obsessed with that kind of thing, No I’m not a “druggie” or someone buying a lot of alcohol. I was just always fascinated with the possibility of having a business I could run from home.
My non fiction book did really well, But I assumed It’s because of the invaluable resources I put in there!
I also wrote a book about saving money, But I received complaints when I put some beginning commentary in there. So I assumed my writing just sucked and no one wanted to read my life story.

Here on Steemit, I took a risk.

I know my writing isn’t the best out there. But I wanted to give it a try, I wanted to learn and practice. Becoming a better writer would help me in so many ways,
I’m in awe by how much love and support I’ve gotten from this site! People leave me such kind comments.
I love on Steemit, how I can upvote those comments, And basically give that person a quarter for their great input.

But my confidence as a writer also grew, I’ve been writing helpful blog posts, Life stories. And sharing my art. I’m sharing in a completely new way.
On facebook you post something long, and you are lucky if anyone even reads it. Or if you post something complicated, You don’t always get those “likes” that feel you deserve.
Facebook seems to scrape the surface of what humans can share.
Steemit gives you a blank canvas, To put whatever you want on it.
I see people sharing non fiction stories, life stories, Complicated computer stuff, And there is so much high quality content on here! It’s such a beautiful thing.

The best part about Steemit, Is I can write freely, Imperfectly, And I still belong in this amazing community who supports each other!

Sort:  

I'm happy for you! And you're right, support is one of the most motivating factors to a writer's confidence.

I absolutly loved the last sentence!

Thank you! This website is truly the best hehe

This is a magical place where your and my dreams can come true! I'm having a blast just like you are. Now give me one of the quarters please! ;)

Alright Most of a quarter for you XD hehee! ( I think I'm a bit diluted right now haha)

It's so true! This place is fantastic.

You really are a quarter ferry! Actually in this case it seems to be 41 cents. What should we call it? I know a Kaylin!

You do!!!! :) I've never met another Kaylin, At least with it spelled that way XD

What's the best thing you've ever written?

I think this is the hardest question I've ever been asked! I personally like my kindle books, and my journal entries of my nightmares (I'll probably post those on Steemit later) But if you are talking about Steemit, My confidence post seems to be the best.

Upvoted and followed!

I'm happy that Steemit has become an inspiring and creative outlet for you. :) Keep up the good work!

I went through a very similar thing as you. I was bursting with creativity, especially with writing, through most of elementary school all the way through high school. I received high marks from all of my English teachers, which was really encouraging. It was only after the first or second semester of college that I hit my first writer's block, and admittedly, I've been struggling with it ever since.

This may sound kinda fucked up but I find it a lot harder to write creatively when I'm happy (as I am now). My creative side seems to emerge only when I'm depressed. I haven't figured out how to break that spell yet.

Aww man, I think teachers and college professors are not always the best judges of good writing, Academic writing can be so boring.

I see what you mean with that!!! I think it takes practice when you are happy in order to create good work. Or maybe you should be in a grumpy mood more so your writing will be better hahaha!!

Yeah, I got so caught up in all the structure and "rules" that come along with academic writing that eventually I became so uptight about anything I'd put on paper, and there went my creativity... it went pissing into the wind. Oh well, I know I'll get it back. Eventually.

Hahaha, yeah, I don't know if being grumpy will cut it but I guess I could give it a shot! What has helped you to write creatively even while happy? That could be a whole post in itself, perhaps? :P

Exactly! It's hard to maintain your creativity when they shove academics down your throat.

Hehehe I should write a post, I dunno, I'm a high energy person. I'm that type of girl you see and you roll your eyes because she laughs too much, Jumps around and runs everywhere! Writing gives me an outlet to release some of that energy because it's over powering haha.

I wish you luck with your writing Journey! , I think your risk will open up new chapters in your life!

I'm very excited for that :) I already feel more comfortable with myself in general! I feel like being so open really helps!

Thanks @kaylinart
Upvote Away
🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

You are most welcome 🙂

I like to inspire others for their works 👍👍👍

Follow you is to follow me

Follow heheh!! Thank you

Thank you :)

I'm glad Steemit has brought this side of yourself out again! ;)

When you have faults, do not fear to abandon them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56125.76
ETH 2526.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27