Paris travel thoughts: the locks aren't permanent

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Paris. The classic I-got-engaged-here thing: a lock on the bridge. I took a picture when I was there a few years ago:

983395AE-8694-4034-ADE4-4737DDA93F1F.jpg

They remove them regularly.

There are all kinds of tragic poetry in that. I breathe symbols, so here we go.

It hit me with a sad bit of comedic irony when someone told me that these locks weren't left to just erode into dust like we all do as the perfect symbol for lasting marital love. It hit me especially because I realized it was in many ways (sadly) truer than leaving them.

In our times, we rarely know love to last--romantic and otherwise. We let our materialism flow into our relationships, and we throw people away. We are thrown away.

I know that sometimes relationships need to change in some ways. But if love is real, it never goes away. We always will the good of the other, and do everything that is appropriate and possible for us to bring about that good for the other. Love stays.

I was deeply touched by the shocking loyalty of my Eastern European friends, who I know sign up for love and mean it. They know what friendship is, and they know that people aren't disposable. It is healing to be loved like that.

We need more people who STAY, especially when it gets hard. We need to be the ones who love, even in the dark, even if we haven't known love like that ourselves.

That is what is beautiful & world-changing. Real love--not to be shown for the 'tourists' and routinely broken apart at the end of the day when no one's watching.

A challenge for myself today.




Xx,
Kay

Sort:  

I think the most important sentence that you wrote is: "But if the love is real, it never goes away."
True, we need more people who stay. We need to be those people. We need to be people who stay. :)
Much love :)

Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to remove.
O no! it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wand'ring bark,
Whose worth's unknown, although his height be taken.
Love's not Time's fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle's compass come;
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me prov'd,
I never writ, nor no man ever lov'd.

Yes! I certainly take it as a challenge to become that person. It's hard and involves self-sacrifice, but it's so important that our action match our words and what we've promised in loving. xx

Oh, yes, ego suffers a lot through these changes ;) But in the end.. it is worth it!

youre a great blogger! Helping you grow :) If you had to guess how many locks would you say are on there?

Thanks! lol.. hmm: 12? Now I'm going to count :). I'm a singer-songwriter more than a blogger, in case you want to check the videos I have up! Xx, Kay

Wow that's incredibly deep. In this country we get so used to disposing things that in the end we dispose our relationships. We need people to STAY. Whats worth having without a fight?

I'm so glad to hear it resonated. Thanks for your comment.

It really is true. It's very hard for that mentality not to seep into everything. And the best things are those that DEMAND something of us. The fight is always worth it.

My parents went here, truly lovely!

I really like the point that too many people aren't really loyal, stick with another type. I'd like to find loyal friends, but I don't know if I have the loyalty like that either.

It does go both ways.. but it's worth the fight! I think you'll find if you start consciously trying to be loyal, and start looking for those character traits in friends, you might find those kinds of friendships developing. They take time, but then they last.

omg so many of them.. <3

There is the same concept and the Bridge of Love in a small city in Serbia, Europe

Pretty cool to see! xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67