#10 How I SteemIt and How YOU Can Do It Too!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Over the last few days, I have been rather engrossed reading some interesting (and some weird) blog posts by fellow Steemians from all over the world. One common dilemma that I noticed among Steemians, particularly the newbies is the question How Do I Start or What To Write on Steemit.

I know how frustrating that feels like when you stare in front of the blank screen for the longest time and your mind just goes blank.


Source

I've been there too.

When I sat down to pen my first post in December 2017, I had absolutely NO idea what to write either. Having left journalism for almost a decade, I have not been actively writing or blogging since. That's when I remembered what my university lecturer used to say, whenever the class complained after being hand down yet another writing assignment.

The 5Ws and 1H Formula


Commonly used by writers, content creators and journalists, the 5Ws and 1H Formula is used to clarify your thoughts, ideas or messages in a cohesive manner. It forms the backbone of your story and ensures all the critical pieces of information are in place. It also helps your readers to grasp the message in your story immediately, else they might end up reading from A-Z but yet fail to understand what you are trying to convey.


The 5Ws and 1Hs addresses the following questions:

  • W HO | Who will be involved? Who was involved?

  • W HAT | What will happen? What has happened?

  • W HEN | When will it occur? What has occured?

  • W HERE | Where will it take place? Where did it take place?

  • W HY | Why is this important? Why does it matter?

  • H OW | How does it work? How does it do what it does?


    Let's take the first #introduceyourself post as an example.

  • W HO | I'm Meghan Markle and I'm an American actress and humanitarian

  • W HAT | Half brother's fiancee was arrested and charged with fourth degree assault over a drunken brawl

  • W HEN | New Year's Day

  • W HERE | Oregon, United States

  • W HY | Set to walk down the aisle with Prince Harry and become part of the British royal family in May 2018

  • H OW | The news may affect her status and her relationship with the British royals


    So there you have it.


    A quick way to get you started on your blog post and share your story with the world on Steemit and finally earn your share of Steem or SBD. Who knows you could be the next Top 20 Authors on Steemit from #teammalaysia!

    However, if all else fails and you still can't crack the formula, maybe what you really need is to heed @deborism advice


    But @karinzdailygrind...What if I need someone to kick my lazy ass into action mode?


    Then, this could very well be your answer...


    PS: A lil' birdie told me only those who could pee squatting qualify. Not sure what that means, but you get the drift 😉















Sort:  

Good one my friend. 5wife 1husband..
My lecturer did said something about this long time ago.

LOL @verasj! 5Wives and 1Husband! What a nice way to put it. I am sure you will never forget the formula. Just make sure you are not one of the "wives". #justkidding

@Karinzdailygrind I think all of us have been there , staring at blank screen #guilty lol love how it break down the process and make it simple for people to understand. Guess I’ll see you soon at one of the steemit events haha

Thanks @deborism. Yes, u coming right this Saturday?

You can teach this in the Boiler Room initiatives! @bitrocker2020, new recruit!

Haha @maverickfoo. Thanks for delegating jobs to me. Would appreciate it if you could delegate more SP or Steem to me too! :D

That one gotta find lobang from @bitrocker2020. He got me mine last month. :)

Thanks for the great advice!

I'm definitely feeling the pinch of the ol writer's block!

You are welcome @branlee87. STEEM on yo!

Kudos & Wonderful. I am in your shoes. This can help a lot of steemians in terms of 5Ws and 1H formula. Tq for this post. Very2 informative. Cheers!

You are most welcome @wilsonkoh. This is a simple formula to help people to kickstart their blog and start writing away. Sometimes when you have too many ideas, you get stuck and don't know where to start. So by going through the 5Ws and 1H you are able to structure your thought process easily. Glad it helps!So STEEM ON!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @karinzdailygrind to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

You got a 0.70% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @karinzdailygrind!

The 5Ws and 1Hs copy-pasted in my drafts for writing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70