The mark [Part 2]: I hacked the riddle

in #writing8 years ago

I hacked the riddle. I found the solution!! I found it. It always makes more sense when you know the answer. I understood there were different parts in the riddle but I could not choose the appropriate attack angle. The elusive answer seemed unreachable.
I had to take a break.
Too much light makes you blind.


Previously in "The Mark"
the riddle(continue reading to see the answer)


Too much reflection imprisons you in the same direction. I put my quest on hold, leaving the questions unanswered.
Now without goal, I wander in the open space of the Platform, looking for another lone soul. I met a notorious bugged avatar. He was stuck in an endless loop, blabbing the same words again and again.


-- Periodic, mythology, calendar, history...


Wait a minute! What was the riddle again? What if the first part of the riddle refers to Periodic and calendar and the second part to mythology and history? Yes! YES. I think I got it.


Solution


I laughed out loud. The ecstasy filled my whole body. I was doing my victory dance, except that it was nothing like a dance.
I mean you can not be a genius at everything. My face was a smile, brighter than a Cheshire Cat. How many points was I rewarded?


I was disappointed, I didn't get as many points as I expected. This was strange, very strange. I went on to check my Passcard.
You had two way of seeing your level on the Platform. You could just look at the amount of points through your overall level. Or you could see how your rewards made different size rectangles stack on the Passcard.
No one had a precise idea why it was there. Mine definitely changed. Some parts were actually much darker than others. I never noticed that. Was it always they case?


-- Hmm... That actually looks like something. I should decrease the zoom.


-- What is this?


I could clearly see a skull! My whole body was shaking as I recall the dark premonition from the morning:

I can sense the mark on you. You should run away and hide. They will come for you, they will hunt you.


-- So you do have The Mark now. We better leave now. They are coming.
I instantly recognized the voice. My brain could not catch up if all those informations at once. Why, How, When did she get in here?
-- Wh...
-- We have to hurry. We can speak when we hit a safe place.
KKRRRIIIIIK. We heard some cars braking. We looked at each other.
-- We leave now she screamed. Follow me and do not stop.
I could see million of options but I was not really considering them. I just followed her...


The inspirational image was a courtesy of @mikkolyytinen (thanks again).
Please follow his work.
First image
Feel free to leave a comment 😝
jyezie

Sort:  

Awesome! Always nice to see work live on and develop into new things :)

Your welcome. Thanks again for your art!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66804.20
ETH 2581.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66