You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Writing Tips - 5

in #writing6 years ago

“Remember when you went off into that beautiful world of your own creation, tripped the light fantastic through the brilliant posies of prose and literary delight? You’re going to hack them down like weeds in the field.“

Oh man. I am terrible at overwording everything. 90% of my workshopping is hearing “cut, cut, not necessary.” And when it’s done, all those words I cherished as they poured forth and then had to cut? I don’t miss them. A tight story is a good story. I’ve been practicing on the 50 Word Short Stories. That’ll pare you down right quick.

Another good write up, thanks!

Sort:  

Thank you. That's exactly right. It's distressing to see those lovely words chopped out, but the story benefits from it in the end.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60951.51
ETH 3381.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48