8) Quality of CA's Public School System

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Now, I do know that I am not the only one who felt stupid after high school graduation.

By age 25 I was pretty damn sure I wasn't the only one who felt that high school does not prepare you for college, or life.

I graduated in 2006. I was the overachiever and well rounded student. I used to do extra homework in middle school because I was bored at home sometimes. (And I have a tv and game system in my room)

So, I am in college and I just received my 1st graded paper :D

A C? Wtf, I knew college was suppose to be harder but a freaking C? I was expecting a B! I talked to my professor and she said my essays were choppy and grammar was bad. Not one fucking teacher EVER told me that until I go to college. I am SO glad I did not spend 60k to learn that lesson. I went to CCSF (junior college) and I am so glad I did. It was the best education I could have asked for and a wonderful experience.

Now you may be asking don't school teach grammar and how to write? Yes they do but after a certain grade they do not enforce it. In high school I would spend 1 day or more writing on the subject given to me and teachers would give me an A each and every time and I never revised an essay. I never felt I had to. Until I got to college and I was forced to learn how to revise a paper.

Funny because I love to write and I thought I was good at it. Actually, I am good at it but it can be choppy at times and I would use metaphors and poetic words. Like I had been doing in high school and gotten an A on.

I never used a semicolon until I go to college and was forced to use one.

I can go on in a rant but I will just share this one example.

Tell me your story and resteem this one.

272042_429681300400961_1884985862_o.jpg

Sort:  

California public school system is a joke. Especially LAUSD.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39