My Addictive Roommate

in #writing6 years ago

addict-2713620_960_720.jpg
(image source: pixabay.com)

"Guy dey don bring light", my roommate tapped me, urging me to heat up water and iron my clothes for class. He on the other hand was dressed already, he knew how scared I was of cold water so he didn't bother waking me up earlier. I quickly got up, plug in the heater and the pressing iron as I laid my wrapper on my bed carefully so my clothes won't end up with lines (where you expecting to hear pressing table, lol am I in my father's house?).

My water was ready and I rushed to the bathroom while my roommate had his breakfast, our specialty akara and hot akamu(pap). He was a slow eater so I had my bath and joined him on the floor.

Chidi my roommate was a very bright student. He read all night, attended night classes and also took tutorial. He was almost perfect but no man is perfect. Chidi was addicted to drugs. According to him, tramadol, codeine and weed made him more intelligent; in his words "guy you no go understand, this things they make me wise, nai make I dey always get As' and Bs' for exam." If only he knew he was naturally intelligent as he has topped his class right from his primary school days.

We both took the school shuttle to school, discussing on our way, from football matches to how our lecturers treated us.
We finally got to class, sat and waited for the lecturer. Professor Okosisi, just as his named dictates, you dare not miss his class. We waited for half an hour, while some persons got tired and left, the hall turned into a marketplace with lots of buying and selling. I quickly brought out #50 and hailed the groundnut lady, ordering her to give me #50 groundnut with enough "jara".

Another 30 minutes gone and I was already tired of waiting, I grabbed my backpack and asked Chidi if he was going to leave with me because clearly the lecturer wasn't going to honor us with his attendance. 'Guy no worry, dey go, I go show later, Chidi replied . I shrugged and left.

I already knew where Chidi was heading to; he's favourite hanging spot, behind chemical lab. That's where the whole action takes place, anything related to drugs was right there.

drugs-3541821_960_720.jpg
I was so happy to get home and there was light. Throwing my bag to one corner, I put on the little 24" television we were managing hoping not to miss out on the TV series, yes I was a lover of Zee world.

There was a loud knock on the door, I didn't even realize I slept off (so much for being a huge fan of Bollywood movies) I jumped from the bed that was already laid on the bare floor to the window, with a deep voice I yelled "who be that?".

Oboy! na me, na me. I quickly recognized Chidi's voice, opening the door, he hurried in, with sweat all over his body, he was panicking seriously. I got him a cup of water, he could barely drink it as he shouted Oboy! e don happen, e don happen o, yawa don gas!.

I was eager to hear, waving my hands at him "Watin happen I said. Dayo don die, he replied. I couldn't believe my ears, I saw Dayo today, he's our course representative, he urged us to wait behind even when he knew the lecturer was a no show. I became slow as though I was high on drugs.

How?, was the only words I could utter. "Guy we go back of Chemistry lab as usual. Chidi could barely speak, but I already knew the end of the story, definitely an overdose of God knows what!. I could only shake my head in both fear and disappointment.

"I no do again!! Chidi said.

I was happy Chidi has decided to stay off drugs but was sad it had to take the death of Dayo for him to make the decision.

The End.

#drugabuse #saynotodrugabuse #naijapigin #staysafe

Sort:  

@josphirre purchased a 33.60% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72