Why am I angry all of the time and where did my friends go?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)
Word Count: 938 | Est. Reading Time: 3:25 min | Readability Rating: B

Intro

I've been thinking a lot about how different tones respond on social media. I'm not sure I have any good answers. But in the most non-scientific sense, this is where my head is at right now - at least partially.


Recovery

Both the election and the past six years of reporting in Washington, D.C. had taken a massive toll on my physical and emotional health, and so I took several breaks in the lead-up to November and for several months afterward. When I returned, I resolved to post less about politics (at least on Facebook) and more about things that made me happy, like good music or beautiful photography.


Image: 'Nevada winter drive,' by Josh Peterson (2016) | Source: Instagram (@joshuadanpeterson) | Rights: (CC BY 4.0)

I took this photo while I was with my little sister on a drive out of the desert and into the mountains near Las Vegas in December 2016.


Observations

One of the more interesting things I noticed after the election, however, was a slow decrease in my social media "follower" count. It didn't bother me that follower numbers would fluctuate since this is part of the social media game. But what I found, and this is what bothered me about it, was that I would always lose a follower or two after I posted something positive.

The design of a platform has a huge influence on its user culture, and so I don't even blame my audiences for their lack of interest. Social media companies have gamified social interaction in such a way that you're incentivized to post things that other people want to see and less about what you want. And unfortunately, what I discovered, at least anecdotally, and much to my dismay, was that it seemed at least a portion of my audiences on these platforms responded better to negativity.

Now, in theory, this isn't completely true because social media allows you to post whatever you want and people can interact with it how they will. Everyone has their own tastes, and I don't have any real data to suggest this decrease on the platforms on which I've built my career, Facebook and Twitter, was due to the content change. And on balance, any time I posted an artistic image on Instagram my following would increase. So there's some suggestion that the responses were platform specific.

For all I know, my frustrations with these platforms could be completely in my own head.


Emotions and Incentives

Social media platforms, if we're really honest with ourselves about them, however, are massive online video games, and our profiles are characters in these games. But for better or worse, these games have real world consequences. And because they serve as massive revenue generating operations for the companies that run them, their creators themselves are incentivized to do whatever it takes to keep people on their platforms.

A study published in 2013 by China's Beihang University found that anger traveled "more quickly and broadly" on its Sina Weibo microblogging platform. Researchers at the University of California, San Diego, School of Medicine and Facebook published separate studies in 2014 suggesting that social media platforms magnified the spread of emotion across the globe. While the studies conflict on which emotions, negative or positive, travel better on social media, they do agree that strong emotions, regardless of their charge, are contagious.

All I ever really wanted to do with my life was write and play music with my friends, and I enjoyed posting about those things on my accounts. Somehow I ended up writing about politics instead, constantly angry about the state of the world, addicted to the process and the fight, and I continue to ask myself how the hell this happened.

If I'm honest with myself, though, it comes down to me - I'm always the common denominator in my frustrations. I chose my career and I chose my path. If I don't like what I'm seeing in my feeds, I need to change who I follow; and if I don't like the kind of content I am posting, then I need to make the changes and weather the fluctuations in the responses until my new audience stabilizes. I need to be the kind of content creator that I would want to follow. Because I want to build community around people who are inspired and inspirational and respond well to positivity and beautiful things.


Gratitude

That is one of the many reasons why I am so grateful for Steemit and the Steemit community. In the week or so that I've been on here, Steemit has already had a positive influence in my life. Not only have I noticed how positivity, thoughtfulness, and helpfulness are rewarded, I find myself wanting to interact more and more on this platform over the others because of that. People are using their platforms on here to improve the lives of others.

It gives me hope that the grand experiment of the Internet and social media hasn't been completely lost to the political and corporate charlatans of our day. And maybe one day I can just go back to playing my guitar with my friends.

Thank you for reading,

- Josh


View History

View Steemit blockchain activity/edit history | View draft edit history on Github | View My Steemit Archive on GitHub


Josh Peterson is a 2016 Robert Novak Journalism Program Fellow and a writer living in Denver, CO. Follow Josh on Steemit and Twitter. Keybase for secure chat. PGP Fingerprint: 4507 3000 1A40 2691 DAB8 ED65 A3EA 3629 73FD B7FF


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Hi Josh,

Glad you've found Steemit. I also noticed fairly quickly after joining that people are a lot nicer to each other here and being positive is the norm, rather than the exception.

For the outsider, who hasn't been a part of the community, it seems that this positivity must be forced or fake. Maybe some of it is, but the vast majority seems to be genuine.

I'm happy to be here. Grateful to have found Steemit... and I think most other "Steemians" are too.

Congratulations @joshpeterson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

what beautiful photography

Great read @joshpeterson. Steemit has had real positive effect on me as well. Looking forward to reading more of your writing!

Thanks for reading, @roodude :) Glad to hear my Steemit observations don't just apply to myself.

killer read @joshpeterson!
i share a lot of your views and points of views.
its not about one but about all of us, sharing and giving more than taking.
well done - following you and just resteemed

Thanks, @schweigeroy! Agreed.

P.S. Just checked out some of your photography. Very cool stuff. Followed back.

Thanks! keep in touch

What a brilliant read man, I am happy for you that you've found this place to share your positivity and be powered by positive people rather than the negative followers you had. I think the true beauty of this platform over others is how incentives are generally rewarded for honesty and 'good faith', so being positive on this platform is an incredibly useful tool. Nevertheless with a writing prowess like yours I'm sure you're going to go far here :D

Thank you for your kind words, @locikll :) I really appreciate it, and I'm glad to be here.

Very interesting what you mentioned about losing followers when posting positive things. This is exactly what the media rely on and this why all news on mayor news networks is always negative and fear mongering. This is what sells ! and they know it. Sad really, because if we removed all media from the world just for 1 month everything would change, because everybody would stop focusing on the negative all day long, and re-direct their attention closer to home and their immediate surroundings. People thrive on negativity, because in some strange way it makes them feel better about themselves. Good for you though to have shifted your focus, your health will definitely improve and the mood will lighten.

Thank you, @claudiaz :) Yes, the fear-mongering drives clicks and generates profits, and it works because we're biologically predisposed to gravitate towards that kind of content. We want to know what could potentially kill us. I'm not sure removing "all media from the world for just 1 month" would change everything, though, however, no do I agree with the sentiment. But I do think that our new interconnectedness, while it has been a blessing, also encourages people to focus on non-local issues outside of their control. In my experience as a reporter, a lot of corruption and mini-tyrannies lie close to home, but it's allowed to fester because of the hyper-focus on distant issues (and non-issues).

Wow! Very nice read. I also think that negativity is more contagious than positivity because it is easier to connect with others who see the world pessimistic. Mood and behavior, I think, can be a self fulfilling prophecy in that if you are looking for negative emotions you will find them as well as if seeking positive people and vibes you will find those as well.

Agreed. I think because emotions like rage or disgust are so quick, the consequences of those impulses are harder to mitigate when there's no cost to acting on them. Through eons of evolution, we've learned to fine-tune our fact-to-fact interactions to avoid most negative costs unless it is absolutely necessary. But online interaction has only been around for several decades, and we don't have those same hesitations. That's why I think Steemit and other crypto/blockchain-based social systems are interesting, because costs that we respond to (like money) are designed into the systems.

interestingread !!!! now following u! I am feeling very positive now steemit has come along!! its all down to us!!!

Thank you for reading. :) And yes, agreed - it's up to us!

Congratulations @joshpeterson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93