How to Make a Difference: Pursuing a Personal Advocacy

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

My friends always tell me, "you are too idealistic, Aaron". And I think to myself, "How is that even wrong?"

Be-the-change-you-want-to-see-in-the-world-quote-HD.jpg

Most of the time, I concern myself with problems of the world in my spare time. I read philosophy books, watch the news, engage myself in social media where I can exert my beliefs in pertinent social issues, and I love talking to my friends who are in dire need of support system. It's tiring but it makes me feel like I have a place in the world, like I am of use while I am still alive. I want to contribute to a change in my community. To be a catalyst of change

Being idealistic is my way of propelling growth in the world. I would like to see the world in a better place someday.
I am sometimes dogmatic in which I rely on theories and books and the things I learned in school to represent my daily life choices yet I am learning to balance practicality with theoretical insights

IMG_20171218_175425.JPG

To combat their arguments on the dangers of idealism, I'd like to coin my stand in the famous works of nobel prize winner who have helped the world through idealism. Take Mahatma Ghandi for example, if he had not indulged himself in his ideals then India would not have been what it is now. If what I hold true is just and moral then I will fight for that no matter what. Idealism kills but it also makes lives

I am an advocate of equality and equity, especially with the LGBT community and women empowerment. I have a lot of gay and lesbian friends and I've heard their struggle. They should not be treated less of a human for being different.
LGBT-Pride-Flag.gif

I want to promote environment mindedness. This is as simple as segregating our trash and recycling scrap materials. Especially this Christmas, a lot of Christmas wrappers are put to waste. Why not open your gifts properly so you can save on gift wrappers or use paper bags so they can be used again. I also find that making origami ribbons from scrap paper is an alternative to buying in overly expensive stores. Grow your own trees and plants in your backyard. It's really simple
25564600_10210327047203647_1982785347_n.jpg

I also want to personally advocate towards mindfulness and self-awareness. Most of the time, conflict is just an issue of communication. If we learn to get to know ourselves better, it could be easier! I personally believe that mindfulness is key in this world. We need to be aware of our own flaw and tendencies of imperfections.Say for example,
I am often mean when I am stressed and results to arguments among mates. I tell my friends of my tendency to be a demon and they try to understand. It makes the process easier all because you are wide aware of your own imperfections. We should be more sensitive and grow emotional intelligence.
25529829_10210326786117120_1663861133_n.jpg

Nothing good ever happened in the world by being passive. I think people need to stand up for what they think is right and use that to be the driving force in your life so you can affect a positive income in your society. There are so much inequalities in the world and so much to be mad about. We need to concern ourselves with these matters not for ourselves but for the next generations.

And as such, I think Steemit is one of the best platforms to support positive change in the community. There is so much to work on in the world and I hope voices of Steemians from all around the world with the same light will be heard so we can help our community prosper and spread joy and happiness in the world.

Sort:  

Your words bug me. Really. And I gotta say I agree with your post.

Ahaha im nosebleeding here hehe but it is a good post :) keep it up .

Expressing your thoughts is never wrong... of course, it depends on various circumstances... ;) There's nothing wrong with being idealistic, but we should also be open-minded enough to understand people. If we're both idealistic and closed-minded, then a problem may arise. ^^ Continue living your life the way you want it to be! That's what I do... but of course, with limitations..

And ohh... basing your thoughts on both theories and practice is a great thing... I don't read philosophical books, but I learn in other means... like anime, movies, etc. It's weird, but that's the way I want it!

BTW, feel free to use #philippines and #steemph as your tags... We have Filipino curators around! Have fun! ^^

I really appreciate you taking time to read my post. It makes me happy to connect to people who underatand my viewpoint lol.

That is true lol. Most of my friends are deterred with my radical view of the world. Maybe they think I am too self entitled. Thanks for your insight maybe I need to be more practical at times. Thanks for the 'practical' advice lol 😀

No worries.. ^^

I agree with that!! We need people who understand... not just people who read.. hihi.. :P

We can always be a better version of ourselves!!! I'm trying my best to do the same!! Cheers! ^^

We need people who understand... not just people who read.. => This strikes a chord!

Hihihi... Hi Juls!! ^^

Hi Shei! Hahaha kasuk an tang @josejirafa ani nahimong chat box nani lol

gyahaha... sorry po @josejirafa... kaisa nlng.. aww.. ^^

I have not fully read. Didn't know your were from here. It makes even specialer. We will have times to talk. Now, i grasped fully your tone in your comment to my post. You will not understand till we end up talking

It's fine. I know how busy you are with your work and with your recent loss.

Your efforts in taking time to read my posts are enough to melt my minnow heart. Thank you so much for stopping by. I am really looking forward to talking with you and maybe even to help you in the work you do. I will be more than happy to assist you. I hope you keep that passion burning! Thanks so much.

My 100% upvote in this post for a high quality content , you will get more rewards and the curator is reviewing newbies for that ,so i highly encourage you. You might be lucky to be selected to earn $50 to $150+ or more . Your content will be worth it in the future ;)))

And dont worry about low votes been there hehe, no pressure just enjoy ;))

My pleasure to have caught your attention. Thanks always for the encouragement miss rose!

Yeahh You are totally right! Let's make the world all together a better place, by educating each other, motivating each other and reaching out iur voice to the world!

That's so true. If only a lot of people think that way. But I do believe that it's possible though. Thanks for stopping by

I think there are quite a lot of people here who are thinking like that in comparing with facebook!

This is noteworthy! It’s never wrong to be idealistic. In my case, I’m realist. Would it be nice if people accept differences and never impose their own beliefs to others? I guess the world would then be a physical heaven. @josejirafa great piece!

Yes. Diversity is beauty. How wonderful would that be 😊

Thanks for informing me! Congratulations to both of us!

Yes yes and super yes! I consider myself an idea person or a vision person.. i strive to allow myself to be more idealistic but I am sensitive and have had some pretty big obstacles make it hard for me to stick with that positive faith sometimes! But I do believe so many of the same things as you, and it helps so much to have a vision, something that you are striving for , rather than just a reaction to what you are fighting against!

Yes that's exactly where I am getting at. I do believe we need to pursue an advocacy in life. Otherwise, what is there to live for. Thanks for the time to read my post

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @josejirafa to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38