You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Write to Heal

in #writing7 years ago

Amen to that and especially how hard it is to do it. I recently chose to write a fictional story based tightly on a traumatic experience I had once. I can't imagine having gone through what you've written about though. As a parent my heart goes out to you.

Sort:  

Thank you Jon.

I began writing a fictional book based upon true trauma as well.

I operate a rescue home for severely abused and burned cats and kittens. And last year my children and I, along with 6 special needs cats and kittens, were forced onto the street literally overnight. My boys are teens and therefore not allowed in shelters. We were also without a vehicle, I am lucky I had enough cash to purchase a cheap tent.

The story, which is becoming a series of books, is based around a kitten who is thrown onto the city streets.

It is taking a rather long time to write, far longer than any other work of fiction I have created, but I feel it will be a great help for awareness for the true realities of the homeless epidemic and animals rights. Too many feel the traumas the animals we have domesticated and the animals we imprison as food sources are forced to endure are worthy of only an afterthought.

I am proud of the piece you are writing. It will be difficult at times, but just put it away for later when that happens :) It will be absolutely worth it.

I can't describe the respect I have for you and your children. That kind of sudden emergency must be hard.

When you get that book finished please let me know - it sounds like something I might like (I kinda enjoy cats).

I have PTSD from the experience. But, it is what it is and I feel I had to go through it as there's so many misconceptions about the homeless epidemic, and a great number of the people involved.

There's over 800 registered school children who are homeless in my country of 269,000. That's just the ones old enough to go to school. And the ones the parents aren't hiding from sheer fear.

That's sick.

And when someone becomes homeless they do not speak of it due to the stigma, and if they are fortunate to get out they just want to forget it. They don't have a voice. I'm a much practiced public speaker. I am a voice.

I have published three episodes of The Strays with Steemits very own publishing house- are you familiar with Steemshelves?

Oh yes. Have read them. I hope Digit finds his mom...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59999.40
ETH 2646.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44