You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Magical Optimism: There's no Secret

in #writing7 years ago

I often wonder the same thing.. do people really believe that being positive will change make things work out better for you, just because you think positive?
I don't see how they could believe that.
I get what they mean.. my wife were talking about this recently...weirdly enough, about a parking space.
I have 4 options when going to the gym: Walk, drive, Uber, or bus. Bus is free, but I never know when it's coming; I don't want to pay for an Uber, Walking eats up an hour of my time, and when I drive, I never know if i'm going to find a parking space because there is such limited parking in the city.
In my negative thoughts, i'm going to drive down there, not find a parking space and have to park in a garage where I have to pay more than if I took an uber. Or the parking spot will be so far away that I might as well have walked.
In her postive thinking: If you look for a space, you will eventually find one.
And she is right... I could go down there, drive around, look for a spot and eventually one would come.
If I had a negative view about parking, and I didn't try, then I wouldn't find one.
If I was positive and looked for one, eventually, odds are I would find one.
BUT... I could also drive down there, angry and bitter, with a negative attitude and still find that same parking spot.

But I agree.. . no.. God, or "the universe" does not care about your positivity. If it did, the saying "Nice guys finish last" wouldn't be a saying.

Sort:  

I have no doubt that many do believe this. I work with them, and I'm married to one. :)And there's a large publishing industry that feeds off of it.

In most cases I think it's a belief akin to a superstition - like walking under a ladder is bad luck. That superstition is grounded in a certain amount of reality: there may be someone on top of the ladder who accidentally drops a hammer on your head as you walk under it. So it's probably a good idea to avoid walking under a ladder. However, somehow this reasonable note of caution has mutated into a superstition, where walking under a ladder could mean you have a worse chance of winning the lottery later that day. It makes no sense.

Just try talking about death and your co-worker's parents, or something like that. You'll see a queasy look on their face, or they'll say something like, don't talk like that! Why? Because their instinctual belief is that talk about a loved one's death could lead to that death. That same logic gets fed into "positive thinking".

Like the ladder example, as you noted, positive thinking is grounded in a certain amount of reality. Positive thinking will affect your actions and the actions of others. It just has no effect beyond that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81