Day 8 - Found First Payout. 100 Followers.

in #writing7 years ago

Date: July 9 2017
Day 8 into my journey in the Forest of Content

A full week has now gone by since I entered these woods. Much has happened since. Some of the locals have begun to follow me wherever I go, studying my actions and discussing their merits. By my count there are about 100 of them now. I am unsure if they follow out of curiosity or some sense of caution towards my presence here. Perhaps it is a mixture of both. Perhaps there is another reason I fail to comprehend.

I woke up this morning to find a small fortune worth of jewels sitting in the center of my encampment. I asked the locals where they came from and they all responded with a single word. "Whale".

It's somewhat disheartening that I missed seeing this mysterious creature, but if I am to trust the locals this is some level of proof of their existence. It's feasible this could be a prank, but I'm not sure those around me have this much to give.

Of a less mysterious profit, I found what the locals are telling me is a payout. A few trinkets. Odds and ends that I may be able to sell when I get back home. The people here seem to respect it though. Now that I've been christened with this payout I seem to have slightly more influence in the area, though I still remain low in the pecking order.

I've found a great diversity in the people here. Wildly differing views, but they somehow manage to stay civil towards each other. A stark contrast to home, where I fear our differences may tear us apart.

Home. I wonder if I will ever return. I sometimes find myself wondering if I want to. For now, me and these wood seem to be in a sort of honeymoon phase. We will see how long it lasts.

Utan_Paradise_Jungle_Camp.jpg

Sort:  

Only 3 votes? This is AWESOME. What is wrong with everyone? I'm upvoting and resteeming.

Wow, thank you very much! Hearing this really means something to me. This is something I plan to keep doing as a series, lets me use both my writing and voice acting skills. It's nice to know I'm on the right track!

I like how you turn a real life situation into a story and adventure. Do you narration for audiobooks like on Audible?

Nope, only semi-professional work I've done is on a game called NeoFeud. I've also run a YouTube channel under the same name for a few years and try to incorporate voice where I can.

Might be worth looking into doing audio books now that you mention it though.

I don't have a clue what it pays for that kind of work, but it certainly sounds career worthy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56