Let Me Introduce Myself

in #writing6 years ago

My name is Joe and I am a 39 year old male living in Harvey, Louisiana which is about 10 minutes from New Orleans. I grew up in a neighborhood in Metairie which is about 10 minutes or so in the other direction away from New Orleans. I lived in actual New Orleans for about a year but that's another story for a different day.

As a young child and through some of my teenage years I didn't have internet or social platforms such as steemit. I met friends and acquaintances the old fashioned way. Good old human interaction and chance encounters.

Man I miss those days...

Our world is vastly different now so it will be fun to write about how I grew up almost like an unfolding story.

Chapter 1
The 1st tv I had in my bedroom was 13 inches. Not much bigger than most laptops and tablets these days. I had maybe 10 channels to choose from. So I enjoyed finding shows and movies to watch. Not like today where I can basically think of anything I want to see and press a button for it to play. Ever since I can remember I have been fascinated with storytelling and dreaming of writing my own stories. In a way I'm still dreaming because I still have yet to write a book or even a short story to completion. Before social media I didn't have a multitude of people to talk to who share my interest in writing. So here I am world. Hopefully by writing this I will meet more interesting people who want to be writers as well.

To be continued...FB_IMG_1511638049226.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @joelithic33, Glad to see you found the IFC, it is a fun place, and fun challenge. Writing, I can't help much with that, but there is @thewritersblock. I think @rhondak runs it, and then there are all the 5 minute free write prompts from @mariannewest, and for writing contest @gmuxx used to run a few, I have not been over to their page in awhile though so not sure if they still do the contest.

As you are starting to get more active on steemit, and if you plan on being around a little bit an investment in the @dustsweeper may be very much worth your time, strongly recommend that you visit their page and read up on it. As you start to create content or leave comments on new user post, and start to get votes from ne users, then they will be a very big bood to you and your growth here on steemit. Any other question feel free to ask.

Thank you buddy. I know about all of what you mentioned. I'm on The Writer's Block discord. I've yet to participate in any of the freewrites so I need to get on it. Not long after joining steemit I discovered @buddyup through a new friend in discord. Great group of people with some fun and interesting conversation. I look forward to getting to know you and many others here.

Do you want me resteem your post to over 72,500 followers? Go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

I have tried to send SBD before but it doesn't work. But feel free to resteem my post 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62731.36
ETH 2678.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54