GreensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

pexels-photo-88700.jpeg

The paper-thin photon collectors have returned

Their projections extended to maximize absorption

They are ready to dazzle this once dull environment

When this northern locale was invaded by snowfall

With the arrival of spring here

Which approximately begins in early April

I feel alive again

The natural carpet below my windowsill

Will again become lush and tall

Where the mechanical mower will roar too

I have thought about this before

Why waste precious gasoline?

When bovines are located nearby?

Wait a minute

There’s something loud behind the cedar trees

I see a huge red tractor pulling a disk

The neighbors have begun spring tilling

After several days of intermittent rainstorms

The race to sow the harvest has begun

< >

I can see the small plot of land below

Where a vegetable garden will be this year

With marigolds in a spare corner

I’m planting carrots, lettuce, and radishes this year

If only the large-scale farmers would take a hint

We don’t need more fields of soybeans and corn

We need more vegetables and fruits

Our diets are nearly void of them

All while not destroying the soil itself

To where the precious top soil is eroded

And all essential nutrients are depleted

My locale upon the Earth’s surface

Is turning away from direct sunlight

There’s no pause button

To stay within this moment in time

Because tomorrow morning

There will be gray clouds everywhere

I’m okay with this color

Just not this particular shade of grayscale

< >

Although my favorite color is black

I like the shades of green too

Deep green equals excellent environmental health

Where no harsh chemicals have been used

All natural fertilizer if you catch my drift

Bright green equals exemplary ambitions

Where most prefer basic colors

In order to camouflage themselves

Amongst individuals who hate the spotlight

No wonder I’m drawn to the springtime

This innocent season of mine

Because I know warmth has returned

The deciduous trees are no longer barren

I may absorb the bright colors of autumn

But healthy, budding leaves are preferable

Because they signal progress

Rather than retrograding comfort-wise

No wonder I’m drawn to green

Besides the color black itself

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66070.34
ETH 2691.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88