You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Elements of a Quality Content

in #writing6 years ago

Thank you for sharing this post. I can tell you put a lot of effort and intention behind how you presented your case. I like the titles, the list structure, the easy way I can skim it to look for relevant points, and the words themselves. You present your arguments concisely and well.

My inspiration from this post is to remember to make my work "skimmable." I sometimes forget like poets full of themselves often do that the reader is lazy. I say this in the most fond and affectionate way (I'm a reader and I'm awfully lazy when it comes to engaging with a text). It is respectful to our readers to give clear paragraphs, clear headings, and directions on what to expect: you do this nicely in your introduction.

I'm reminded of high school english literature class and the five paragraph essay. There is a reason we do thesis statements, then refer back to them throughout our text. They make sense and are easier on the reader.

As a fellow @curie recipient, I too feel the need for high quality content and struggle against days where the enthusiasm just isn't there for it. Our time is so precious!

How do you manage your time versus the rest of your life to produce quality content?

Sort:  

😱😱😱 The great @jocelynlily has commented on my post!

Regarding your question, I think I have sacrificed some parts of my life like sleep. I usually sleep 8-9 hours before, but right now, it becomes 5-6 hours. Haha.

I usually take advantage of my sudden burst of enthusiasm to write. I never forced myself to write if I don't feel like writing. Ideas usually come when I'm sleepy, so I keep my phone ready when I'm about to sleep. That's why it took 2-3 hours before I can sleep.

By the way, congratulations on your first @curie upvote! Continue with the level of quality of your first curie and I'm sure it will not be your last. You're just starting!

Oh god, I'm all embarrassed now.

I feel like sacrificing sleep for writing is the modern equivalent of killing your prized goat and burning it in sacrifice for good fortune. It is an expression of how willing you are to achieve your goals, but not the best choice. Apparently anything less than 8 hours of sleep is just as detrimental for your health as not sleeping at all. Be careful!

For the longest time, I too struggled to write. I had to be struck by the "sudden burst of enthusiasm," as you say. I didn't write for a whole year once.

Now, I write something every day. Even if it sucks. Even if it is terrible I have a "daily quest" to just write something. Once I had that habit to write one thing, it got easier and easier to do. My writing sessions lengthened, and now I'm up to like an hour or two a day of just writing; mostly in my off time in the morning or after work.

You can do it too if you're not already. Maybe in liu of not sleeping :)

Thank you for the encouragement! I read your awesome post about how to get a curie upvote! Holy wow! That was worth the sleep sacrifice!

I'm now slowly regaining my old sleeping pattern. Hahaha. I usually write when I'm commuting to and from work. You know, the traffic here in the Philippines worsens every single day. It's an advantage for me though. Haha.

I have an alarm in my phone every 8:30 PM; just to remind me to read or write something, but I don't follow it. It's just a reminder for myself to consistently strive for excellence.

About my Tips and Tricks to get curied, I'm glad you appreciated it. I hope it will spread to more minnows so that they can feel what a first curie upvote feels like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55