Writing an Episodic Novel #13: The Basics of Writing Fiction

in #writing6 years ago

steemnovelday13.png

I was dusting off the hard drive on the weekend and discovered notes from an old writing class I used to teach. The notes were all about writing fiction. Here is a summary:

  1. Character. Have a main character readers will relate to. Having quirks is good.

  2. Outline Your Plot. You can't get from here to there without a map.

  3. Start in the Middle of Things. You know, that old "In media res" thing.

  4. Choose the Best Point of View

  5. Use Dialogue to Keep the Character and Story Moving Along

  6. Show, Don’t Tell

  7. Give the Characters Motives

  8. Engage the Reader's Emotions

  9. Write What You Know

  10. Revise Carefully

divide.png

Those are the basics. I can, and have, gone on endlessly about all of these things that you need to know about writing fiction, writing novels, writing short stories.

I want to tell you about the real basics of writing fiction. There are 2 rules.

1. Write. Every Day.

Scribble on a napkin, index cards, an old typewriter, your laptop. Dictate the story into Google Docs. It's free. Stop being a prima donna. You don't need fancy software, a special pen, internet access. You need to write and write and toss out the real crap and write it again but better. Every word out of your mouth is NOT precious. But a lot of them could be.

2. Don't. Hold. Back.

Reach into your soul, your heart, your memories, and write as if the human condition matters. No cardboard characters with namby-pamby reactions. Motives can be small. Often in life they are. Passion is big.

Once you start writing with these basics, stories will emerge.

Sort:  

Hi @joannereid
There are plotter and pantser. I am a writer by both. Sometimes pantser way gives a magical pleasure. I guess you might too.

I like to have an idea where the story is going and often do a big outline but then as I write it, I wander off in a more interesting direction. That is indeed a magical pleasure.

Oh this is perfect! I really need to heed your advice. I love this: Every word out of your mouth is NOT precious. But a lot of them could be. ~~~ So very true. And until you write them down, you'll never know which ones to save, which ones are precious.

When I was cleaning out a closet at home, I found stacks of things I wrote, scribbled, jotted and looked at them and thought -- what a pile of shi crap! It's good to scribble but at some point I should have processed these words and tossed them or tried to scribble them into something bigger.

The worst one was one dated Jan 1, 1990. The beginning of an outline for a novel. I tossed it.

Hi Joanne, If you will send me your address to [email protected] I will get your books mailed out. I'm so happy you won, but I'm also nervous about you reading them. lol

I will email it to you shortly. Don't be nervous. But I know the feeling. A friend wanted to read my books and I wouldn't tell her my pen name. Finally I had to do it and that was so nerve wracking. OMG, and I think I want to write and sell books! Thank you!

Hi there- nice to meet you. I'm new to this site. I've only posted 4 original posts.

I've written a novel and am on the second.

I taught creative writing for years.

What do you write? :)

Joanne,

What a simple 10-point fiction writing summary. I could have used that so simply set out back in the day. Same for rules. LOVE this especially:

Reach into your soul, your heart, your memories, and write as if the human condition matters.

And:

Motives can be small. Often in life they are. Passion is big.

Thanks sooo much, Ms. Writing Teacher! ;)

I'm following you - follow me?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75