DON'T BE A BROKE WRITER

in #writing6 years ago

DO THE FOLLOWING AND YOU WON'T END UP A BROKE WRITER.
IMG-20181003-WA0003.jpg

This article is worth your time so don't just skip reading any part of this article.

When I started my career in writing I thought I was going to end up a broke writer because to me then writing was just something I loved doing but when hunger show me something I had to sit down and tight my belt to find out what makes successful writers to be profiting from their writing skills.

I searched and made lot of mistakes until I started learning the right strategies which I will be teaching few of them today.

Many people who are aspiring to be writers and some who are into writing have not understood the secrets behind successful writers.

A lot of aspiring and want to be writers especially those into writing, they just do trial and error when it comes to writing thinking that way they will get results but how long will they keep doing trial and error when the answers can be gotten to end their frustration.

Some others just remain passionate writers instead of going beyond just passion to understand the ways they can earn heavily from their writing skills.

I will be sharing with us certain things we must do as writers if we don't want to end up broke as writers.

  1. WHY DO YOU WANT TO WRITE

This is one thing which many writers don't get because they think writing is just about doing without knowing the why behind the action called writing.

If you meet a doctor and ask him why are you a doctor and he tells you l am a doctor because I just like being a doctor, won't you be doubting that doctor.

Loving something is not enough reason to do it, you must have a why behind that which you do.

The why is what will keep you going even when you are faced with challenges, there are times you will want to stop doing it but what keeps you going is why you started it.

So I am asking you this question as a writer, why do you want to be a writer.

Is it just to be happy that you are writing or because you just want to make money.

Your why is also your message as a writer.

What do you want to be known for as a writer.

Until you know why you want to be a writer you won't have a clear direction of your writing journey.

  1. SOLVE A PROBLEM

The beginning of my writing career was not a smooth one and I made a lot of mistakes which made me sit up and learn more to correct my mistakes.

One of the major mistakes I made was that I was trying to write everything and anything.

I will write on leadership, success, Christianity, career, politics, academics and I was thinking that I am on the right track until I discovered I was on the wrong track.

You can't be writing everything and expect to be solving a problem and you must also understand that you can't solve all problems because you are not sent to solve all problems through your writing.

Find a problem you are so much passionate about and people are hungry to get solutions for.

When you focus on solving problems through your writing then you will start seeing people rushing into your inbox to pay you for your solutions to their problems.

Don't just write for writing sake rather write to solve problems in line with your message.

Nobody will read your write up because you can write but because you are solving their problems.

  1. FIND YOUR AUDIENCE

Now I just talked about finding a problem to solve but solving problems for the wrong audience will make your writing efforts a waste.

You are not sent to everybody rather you are sent to a targeted audience who have the problems which you want to solve.

So look for the people who are hungry for your solutions through your writing.

Don't carry that mindset of I am sent to everyone.

  1. FIND PLATFORMS

It's not enough to know why you want to be a writer, finding problems to solve and your audience but you must also have platforms where your message as a writer can be seen.

One of the major platforms where your message as a writer can be seen is on social media e.g Your Facebook timeline, Facebook groups where your targeted audience are, whatsapp and other social media platforms.

You are reading my write up because you are either in a Facebook group, on my Facebook timeline or on whatsapp.

So social media is a major platform to put out your message as a writer.

  1. PRODUCTS AND SERVICES

Many writers are good with number 1-4 but they have not mastered the art of turning their writing message into products and services which people can pay them for.

On friday I will be launching my third book which is on career success and right now people are making orders for the book.

Imagine if all I do is just write alone without creating products and services that means I will not be able profit from my writing skills the way I should.

There are other ways to profit from your writing skills but I just want to talk about creating products and services.

Many writers post articles daily but don't know that those articles can become a book.

The book on career which I will be launching on friday was a series I did on Facebook and whatsapp and I turned it into a book.

So as a writer you can create products and services from the articles you write.

As an author of three books I have a service which I render in my coaching course that teaches upcoming writers how to write their own books too.

So don't end up just writing alone when your writing skills can fectch you money if you only understand the strategies on how to make that happen.

If you have questions you can ask me.

P.S. I help individuals and organisations package their passion, experience, ideas, knowledge, skills and talent into a profitable business which multiplies their income, impact and influence.

HAVE I ADDED VALUE TO YOU IF YES DO COMMENT BELOW HOW AND ALSO SHARE WITH YOUR FRIENDS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15