Baybayin: Ancient Philippine Script

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I have been wanting to learn Baybayin for a year I guess, but I always seem to forgot to study it. If you don't know what Baybayin is.. it is an ancient Philippine script used by the Tagalog people.

>>More information about "Baybayin"<<


I am just reminded of it because of this article I saw from Facebook..

http://news.abs-cbn.com/life/04/23/18/house-commitee-approves-baybayin-as-national-writing-system

This news article about the House Bill 1022 or the proposed "National Writing System Act" states that Baybayin is being declared as the country's national writing system.

..and I think, after a few time, this will be a subject in school.. and I guess it should be, so it would be much easier to learn and be used to writing the scripts.

But the problem is that, people should write every script properly so that it would be recognizable, otherwise, it won't be easy to read the message, or we won't be able to read it at all.


I have here a guide about Baybayin.. Honestly, it looks complicated at first, but it is actually easy to learn.. The first key to this is to memorize every script or symbol.. Once you have it all memorized, you will have no problem in writing in this style.. The next step is to know the rules about the dots and crosses.

Baybayin.jpg

Image source


I made my own guide based on the visual aid above.. so It would be much easier for me to memorize. I actually like that "Nordenx" style the most.

As of now, I am very close to putting all the scripts in my mind, I just need more practice for me to memorize everything.

Tips: 1. Memorize the scripts ; 2. Know the rules ; 3. Practice until you get used to it.

That's all! Thank you for reading my post :)

steemit.jpg

Sort:  

Cool, nordenx was the deviantart user who compiled and made that graph I sent you.

The Congress (House Committee on Basic Education and Culture) has made a good step on passing the Baybayin as the "National Writing System" (House Bill 2022) yet I think because it is not like the Latin Alphabet, it should have a basis on how it should be writtem. Just like 'having a cursive Cyrillic,' We don't want to read Baybayin letters that are different from the other type of Baybayin writing.

nakakita ako kanina ng post sa fb, na memorize ko to dati kaso nakalimutan kolang din hehehhe :D
mememoryahin ko ulit :D

Opo, that's a good idea po ^_^ , malapit ko na po siyang mamemorize lahat. Ang ganda lang po kasi tignan nung style kaya gusto ko hehe

Yes! its a good way to preserve our cultural identity as Filipinos~
hehehhe
salamat! save koto!
resteem ko :D

Thank you so much po ^_^ I actually saw this first kay kuya Dev ko, kaya po naging interesado din ako.

yes!!! :) very nice, lets support our own culture

Nice! thanks for sharing this.

You're welcome ^_^

wow siguro this is the time na sariling atin naman ang ating pahalagahan..

Opo, pero dapat po ayusin yung pagsusulat kasi baka di marecognize yung symbol hahaha

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61472.96
ETH 2381.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56