"Happy New Year" Be an Avid Student of Life

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Zara Walker Domaine Center Parcs Limburgse Peel, America, Netherlands.jpg


The New Year is about to be born,
It is a mere child,

☼Filled with wonder!☼

~
Keep that deep, abiding
Sense of wonder inside
You all year long.
Times and events will conspire to
Snuff that out of you, your life and your spirit.

Do Not let that happen!

~
Even at this late date in my Life,
I still well up with tears at a beautiful song,
A Marvelous Sunrise, the sweet, murmuring
Sounds of a sleeping baby.
~
I will take off my
Shoes, run in the rain,
Explore an empty building, get
Surprised by the hidden
Flower in the woods.
Never lose that sense of adventure and
Wonder!

~
That is one way to
Stay young at heart.
Be an Avid Student of Life;
Never let the humdrum events
Of life’s mundacity rob
You of your joy.
Stay well in the coming
Days, and always;
Happy New Year.

“Happy New Year”
by
Jerry E Smith
©12/31/16


Image by
Zara Walker

2018, a new beginning or a simple repetition?
I do not speak of God, I speak of love.
I do not speak of the devil, I speak of intolerance.
I do not speak of angels, I speak of service.
I do not speak of death, I speak of the value of all life.

The truth is not an opinion or a belief.
It cannot be found by shouting and argument, but
In the Silence of a simple, Living Compassion.
If we do not serve all beings with a loving heart,
What do we contribute to the world?
What value does our life really have?
The new year begins with our own intimate reflection -
How Much More Can I GIVE?
May all beings everywhere be safe, secure and harm free.
May all beings be happy...


Sort:  

Thanks for your lovely sharings, Jerry!

Happy 2018

Thank you for coming over and reading. Methinks we really are
On the same page with the genre of our writings. 👌
Happy 2018

@jerrytsuseer Happy New Year!

My first 2018 greeting! Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60295.64
ETH 3298.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37