"Broken Reality" a writing by my friend Ian Stembridge

in #writing6 years ago

small jean-wimmerlin-530131.jpg


We live in a broken reality, yet we accept it every day.
We live for their acceptance,
Knowing we'll die from their rejection.
This world is broken;
Its people are losing affection.
Since when did we become so heartless?
Since when are someone’s emotions a play toy?
~
Regardless, I can't accept it.
Just because an official says it, doesn't mean it’s all in good credit.
Where did the love go?
It's incredibly sad to see, these false accusations and hate flow.
What can you do?
¿?
It's simple.

Watch what you say and question how you act.
Your voice is more powerful than you believe,
Can't you see?

God used words to create this planet so
Be careful with them.
Respect and honesty are key, and they’re my frequency.
Those who walk around expecting respect will never truly be happy,
True respect is only found in those who give it.

The point I want you to get is THIS:

You have more of an impact than you realize.
Don't stand for crimes against humanity,
Don't stand against the kid who is pushed around at school, and
Don't stand against the nerd on the internet.
Don't stand against them!

Stand WITH them,
For their lives are no less significant than yours.

I plead with you,
BE a light house, BE a beacon of hope,
BE a reason for someone to continue their life,
Because in the end,
That is everything that matters.

“Broken Reality”
by
Ian Stembridge
Pronounces name VE-ree KAIR-fuh-lee
©4/14/2016

I first saw this post last year in 2017, having been shared by the author
Who wrote it the year before that in 2016.
It struck me then and I shared it.
Yesterday I became friends with Ian and he gave me permission to share this.
All the words are his,
Although I did make three spelling and grammatical changes.



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Sort:  

yes yes YES!!!!!! OMG!!!! The hairs on my arms are standing on end right now and I VERY nearly burst into tears @jerrytsuseer! That was without question, the most powerful and beautiful original piece of writing I have read in a VERY long time!!!

I love it all, but especially this:

Respect and honesty are key, and they’re my frequency.
Those who walk around expecting respect will never truly be happy,
True respect is only found in those who give it.

Again.... WOW!

Truly beautiful!

Thank you @jaynie, but remember, this is not original by ME
My friend Ian Stembridge (Facebook, not Steemit) wrote this
(I wish I had) but like you, it affected me very strongly, so
With his permission, I crafted this post using images
Not available to him in FB. I am so happy you
Resonated so strongly with it. Thank you.

Still 200% brilliant :)

This a beautiful poem. Well written. Thank you for asking permission to share with us today, Jerry.

As I said in the explanation, when I saw it in 2016, I shared it to my timeline in FB, it came up in my memories from last year, so I sent Ian a friend request (we have some mutual friends).
He accepted, and I asked and he said okay.
I shared this link to his timeline, and right away his brother who is a movie producer of some
Sort, shared it to his timeline. They are a talented bunch. Thanks @cecicastor

Follow me thanks
2018-04-14-18-28-11.png

Since you are so VERY new to the platform @isbahannur, I did not flag this comment.
Please be sure and read the Steemit FAQ's, but for now, here is this
For you to SERIOUSLY consider:

What is considered spam or abuse?

  1. Asking for money, asking for views, asking for UPVOTES, asking for follows, or resteems.
  2. Leaving nearly identical or materially similar comments on multiple posts.
  3. Comments that are unrelated to the topic of discussion.
  4. Sending unsolicited links or requests to users via wallet memos.
  5. Posts that require upvotes to enter or play in a contest or game.
  6. Sending users a link to your blog or a post if it is not relevant to the conversation.
  7. Posts or comments that include little or nothing more than an offer to trade follows or upvotes.
  8. Using tags that are unrelated to the post.
  9. Threatening users with any type of physical violence.
  10. Not citing sources when using someone else’s material.
  11. Posting ‘not safe for work’ content without using the “nsfw” tag.
  12. Selling or offering to buy votes/resteems/follows, or schemes that facilitate this.
  13. Scams or Fraudulent offers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54