My niche is me (Another late-night inspired post)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago

What do you do?
I'm a writer.

What do you write?
Anything that pays

(Me at an offline networking event)

This is literally how I answer the everyday, "how do you make your money question." Normally, the conversation stops there, but last weekend, it didn't.

Last weekend I was subjected to an hour-long discourse on why I should pick a niche. I was schooled on why I would not be successful if I didn't write about something I was passionate about. I would fail if I didn't focus on exposing the truth.

Didn't I care??
Didn't I want justice?
You have a gift! You must use it!!

But no one loves a journalist.


I used to have that passion. Back when life didn't involve caring for mini-humans, or hoping I'll be able to stand up in the morning, or that the lights were on.

I had plenty of time to run around searching for a story. I joined AmeriCorps. I wrote for newspapers. I made a difference! Then I got a job, and after 10 years of brain-numbing corporate protocol, I lost my will to give a fuck --

about everyone else

...because they made it very clear that they did not give a fuck about me.


Disgruntled? No. Realistic.

Sure, having a niche would make it more likely for people to follow me. I would become an expert that they could turn to for advice and such. I could milk that expertise into financial security. I could significantly change my life, if I simply focused on one thing.

But this is all based on the concept that I would like to further society with my expert knowledge. Perhaps I'd simply like to further myself? Again, not disgruntled.

So I am not going to focus my writing around a single topic simply because it will provide data for some other interest to profit off of. I am simply not concerned about everyone else anymore. I am concerned about me, and I am willing to share myself (not my research) with whomever would like to listen.

And... I happen to have an interesting enough life to do so.

I blog about me, because that is what I know.

Viva la Blogger!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59622.00
ETH 2549.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53