Meet My Writing Partner Peter Parker by @jenniferskyler - With Love From Portland

in #writing8 years ago

 In honor of National Dog Day, I’d love to introduce my writing partner, Mr. Peter Parker. 

This little Super Hero rescued me, in July of 2015, from a life void of adorable canine companionship. 

Peter Parker was about a year old and had been living at the Oregon Rescue for several months. Before that, he’d been running around on the streets of Chico, and before THAT - based on how he flinches and bolts at loud noises, metal objects, and sudden movements  - I’m pretty sure he was with someone who abused him. 

Good on you, little Super Hero, for running away from that A-hole, and finding a Better Life.

How Peter Parker went several months at the Oregon Rescue without being adopted, I’ll never know, because he’s the cutest stinkin’ thing ever, but I suspect his tarnished past as a “Poo Eater” had something to do with it. (I was willing to overlook Peter Parker’s sordid past, as it is indicative of nutritional deficiencies. I had a feeling a few months on a high quality grain-free food would take care of his dirty habit, and I was right.)


I knew, as I walked into Pet Smart one rainy Saturday - where the Oregon Rescue was starting to set up their display of rescue doggies up for adoption - that there was a distinct possibility my little boy and I would be going home with a dog. But nothing prepared me for Peter Parker. Unlike the other dogs, who were all sitting and lying down, he was standing at the front of his cage, ears down, head down, tail wagging… waiting… I think, for me. 

He saw me, lifted his seal-pup eyes to mine, wagged his tail harder, and my heart exploded into a million pieces, then reformed like a jigsaw puzzle, with a space big enough, just for him. 

Like Life, Writing can be lonely. It’s way more fun with a partner. Now, I can't lie - Peter Parker is a TERRIBLE writer, and an even worse editor (shhhh… don’t tell him I said so) but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Cuddly companionship while I’m writing is just the best. 

I think Peter Parker agrees. Ever since he fell asleep with his head in my hand during the ride home from the Oregon Rescue, his favorite place to be is curled up next to me. 

If you find yourself deficient in unconditional canine love, may I suggest visiting a local rescue?Happy National Dog Day!

With Love From Portland,

Jennifer Skyler


 

Sort:  

lovely dog of yours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63