You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge

in #writing7 years ago

This is becoming so meta! :D You're writing about writing, and yet it doesn't feel too tedious. When you started, I felt a glimmer of fear that this series would read too much like a tutorial of sorts, but I decided I would support you no matter what. I was wrong, and I should've had 100% faith in your process. I apologize for that, mate!

All your entries so far in this series is very engrossing and poetic. Maybe you're an inherent storyteller, that's why all your posts have that lyrical feel to it. It all flows so well, and I just don't know how you do it! I feel time pass slowly and quickly at the same time. Amazing job with this, mate. I'm hooked, and this isn't even fiction! :D

Sort:  

I had only a vague idea where this was going when I first set out. The topic was writing, which does bring to mind tutoria type of posts. Which would be fine if I had a clue about any of that. I'm just winging it.

It has progressed naturally from what has felt right. I said in another answer in one of my posts that I am kind of inspired by the Beat Writers, telling stories and relaying experiences, but often from their perspective. I am using that angle to explore writing, my thoughts about it, my ideas, hopes, dreams, and understanding of it. As well as stories themselves, in an attempt to explore writing, by writing.

There may be a couple of 'tutorial' type posts, but more from the perspective of what I am learning from any that I may be undertaking at that time - my views on them, what works or doesn't. Hopefully nor dry or dull.

I suppose, ultimately, I want my writing to have a soul. A heart. A purpose - whether to entertain, or make one think.

The Beat Writers are a great inspiration to have, and I feel you have crafted a unique voice for yourself that sets you apart from them. This whole meta exploration of writing has been very enjoyable for me. I could feel the passion you have and it's bouncing off me in a really positive way. You've succeeded in injecting a soul to your words, brother, and I could attest to the benefits your readers could gather.

I hope this series is providing you with your much needed catharsis, because it's certainly doing it for me. Simply amazing!

It's hard to categorise I suppose. Like an editorial on words and creativity. A journal on writing, or a diary of my journey into writing. Or a series of thoughts expressed. One way or another I am enjoying it. Finding my voice again. It's that voice that lay behind my stories, including unfinished novels. So to see that strengthening again is encouraging.

Truly glad you are enjoying these Notes. I do hope to keep that going. Let me know if I ever drift. I want to write, every day. But I don't want to just put any old group of words on to paper and think that is good enough.

And yes, it is cathartic. Well spotted.

If you feel that a certain entry doesn't pass your standards, don't feel obligated to post it. It's one thing to warm up and get back into rhythm, it's another to force yourself and dry up quickly. You're filling your creative well again, and that's great! So do whatever work for you, my friend :D

Haha! I noted it because I feel catharsis just reading your notes. It's a very great read especially for authors going through writer's block.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69