You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure

in #writing7 years ago

Based on everything I've read from you ever since we first met, all I've ever read was hits, so I'm going out on a limb to say that great writing comes naturally to you :) These are all wonderful points. I agree with the merits of studying up on the science behind something before bending all the rules. One cannot simply bend rules if one doesn't know them in the first place. It's a natural progression I think--talking about learning, mastering, then defying.

Personally, I adhere to that as well, but I have noticed myself breaking the structure in recent stories. It's not that I've mastered the art of writing--far from it--it's just that I really want to keep things fresh and unexpected.

Sort:  

I think I have instinctively known these rules, and structural concepts. Just not their terminology and nuances. To label them, and define them, and understand their relationship to each other, and how they fit into the grander scheme of writing has been helpful to me. Even if just to remove a sense of nebulousness within my own consciousness about the writing process.

And knowing the rules gives a greater sense of freedom to break those rules when appropriate. Which can be fun in itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57711.87
ETH 3013.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35