You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NAQUOYA'S BOOK REVIEWS - The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo - Stieg Larrson

in #writing6 years ago

Really? I should really watch the Millenium trilogy then. It's been in my backlog for years now. I mean, I didn't love the Hollywood version, but it was okay. I watched it with officemates when it came out in the cinema, and had the opportunity to watch it on TV just yesterday.

It's a shame that Stieg Larrson passed away when he did. He was good and his work showed a lot of promise. It's great that he was able to leave a lasting legacy before his demise though.

Sort:  

There have been some wonderful Swedish TV shows of late, so I think they make good quality, gritty crime type dramas. And here with these books they had an incredible script to work with. I find US remakes tend to disappoint, so I never bothered to watch them.

I agree that it is a shame that Larrson died before he had a chance to experience his success. Cruel sense of fate at work there.

Too bad we would always need subtitles for that. Is Sweden known for crime? I thought it was relatively peaceful there. But The Killing and other Swedish crime dramas have popped up over the years.

I guess behind the facade lies a real place. There has certainly been a lot of riots there of late, and clashes based on the immigration issue. Probably like most places, the big cities have their ghetto areas, and the more rural settings are probably peaceful and quiet.

Given that it is a part of greater Europe these day then cross border migration is a reality there as well as in other countries. That has positive, as well negative effects. Mostly I don't think its a problem. But has produced a wave of great shows and literature.

Oh yeah definitely. The facade must've heightened the curiosity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54