You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [BOOK REVIEW] Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

in #writing7 years ago

What are you doing, mate!?

The first rule of Fight Club is that you do not talk about Fight Club.

Do they specifically state what happens if you do talk about Fight Club? I forgot if they did. It's been a long time since I watched the movie and read the book.

You know, I saw the movie when I was still below the PG age and couldn't understand the themes. I re-watched it again when I was older, and it really opened up my mind to the different philosophies. Who could've figured that a dark dramedy that deals with addiction and depression could be so deep.

You captured all the points effectively, and I can't point out if you missed anything. It's really about an internal struggle, and the destruction of the outside world is representative of what's happening inside.

Sort:  

I was writing about Fight Club, your honour. So I should be free on a technicality.

It's a powerful story. The movie is still on high rotation for me. Entertaining, and still conveys the thematic power punch that is contained in the story. The book delivers on the depth and embodiment of this darker side of enlightenment with incredible ease. I loved the language, the POV, the poetic story telling and imagery.

Aha! You had me at semantics! Proceed :D

Chuck Palahniuk really has a way with words, doesn't he? He's not one of my favorite authors, but his work is highly readable. Maybe some of the themes don't match up to my preference but he writes so fluidly.

I've not actually read any of his other books. And if it wasn't for the movie then I probably would never have looked at reading this one either. But the movie was so good I was intrigued as to how it was written.

The only other book I've read completely was Choke, after watching the movie. I've read snippets of the others though through previews.

I'd be interested to read some of his others at some point, but they're not high on my list at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54